New to iRacing, asking some tips...

Hi folks, iRacing is tempting me! I have some years of experience in simracing, with mostly of my time spent in rFactor and Assetto Corsa and casual play in other racing titles.
I think it's time to move on and find new challenges.
iRacing is something that I desired since ever, but there are some questions that I can't answer anywhere:

1. How the "career" unfolds? I mean, unlocking new categories is just based on my irating or there's more?
  2. Can I immediately race with GT3 or Prototypes cars or I have to earn the licence first? What about instead just practice with those cars?
  3. Do you NEED to buy some specific tracks (= race there) to improve your licence?
  4. Is there a "strategy" to buy content to save money? Discount offers, gift cards, other?
Cheers,
Federico

You get a few free cars and tracks to start. At first you can only race rookie class...in an official series. You can progress through the classes by racing in 4 official races in your current class, or 4 time trials. But you can only advance if your races or time trials are "clean" without many incidents (wrecking or running off track). There is a separate class for oval, road, Dirt oval, and dirt road.

You can immediately race with any car you buy in hosted sessions and/or private leagues which are unofficial...there are thousands of them, so no problem finding a good match. I have only raced official series.

Your iRating is your speed or talent, your Srating is your safety rating. iRacing servers automatically match drivers with similar iratings.
You can progress pretty quickly through the classes if you wish...as you get higher class you may need to buy more cars and tracks. you will have to buy a lot of tracks to truly compete in every round of an official series.

If you want to race official only as I do, find out what is popular in your time zone and what tracks you may need for upcoming season.