middle tire temp advise

Ok I am going to ask the masses here. On all the cars I have driven on iRacing the middle tire temps are always high. I can use the lowest psi and they still are high. With other sims you make a big psi change the center temps change. Does iRacing tire model not wok that way? Or is it just you need way more camber to see the tire temp get more normal...IE 105 outer 110 middle 115 inside I am seeing 105 135 115

iRacing doesn't ahve their tyre temperatures sensible yet. The side temperatures also contain part of the tyre's sidewall, which never touches the ground. Therefore side temperatures are low.

When looking at your tyres I advice two perspectives:
  1. How do the middle temps compare left <> right and front <> rear?
  2. How is the tyre wear spread on each of the tyres (this is modelled correctly)?

I'm no expert on this. I don't even know if adding or removing pressure reduces wear and I never use Atlas. ;)

I do know that wear results from more than tyre pressures. If you find one tyre wearing much more than others, you might want to change the balance in your car so that it stresses the wearing tyre less.

I advice taking a look in the thread called "Ovals" here in the RD iRacing forums. It contains a nice movie and some useful notes. ;)

Hey Charles, I've been tackling this same problem as of late. I haven't got a definitive answer from an authority, but a number of opinions (including mine) state to ignore temps completely and substitute wear. Just get your wear even across the tire and you're set

coming from a racing background tire temps are the measure tool...so it goes against the rules to not look at them. I am a telemetry guy so it is a tool to use.I have done some testing tonight and the psi seems to do little. You can get too much and get center wear.Moving camber changes the temps more than pressure does. Like any sim some chages do more than others like shock settings in EVO
2 hours is going to be one tough race