Max FPS for GTR-Evo?

C

Chad711

• Chad711

I recently setup a dual boot to run Vista. I was presently surprised to see an improvement in the game from XP. I didn't think I would see any improvement since my rig is more then enough to run this game with everything maxed out. However it did look smoother in Vista.

I'm running a Quad Core Q6600 2.4GHz 2GB of memory, HD3870 gpu.

I fired up Fraps to see what type of FPS I can get. Is this game maxed at 60 FPS? The whole time I was racing the game was a 60 FPS constantly. As a matter of fact it never dropped to 59 or when above 60 the whole time. It was odd because I am so use to seeing it drop or go up depending on the load. So I am curious, can you not get more then 60 FPS in this game?

I'm no expert on FPS so just wanted to ask about it.

• Chris Standring

Sounds like you have V-Sync switched on there, that would cap your fps at your monitors refresh rate.

• David Hal

I've got sometimes framecount of 85.
The 85 is my max limit of fps, because my refresh rate of my monitor is 85.

If you turn on Vsync, the max fps count will be same as your refresh rate of your monitor.

Btw, 59, 60 fps aint bad.
I've read somewhere, that the human eye is capable of seeing frames till a max count around 30 Frames Per Second.
After 30 FPS you will not see it anymore as frames, but you will see it as one motion, like a movie.

Something like that..

• Chad711

You are correct I do have it on. I use my LCD TV for my gaming. It's a 46" Sony LCD model KDL-46XBR3

My tv should have a better refresh rate then my LCD monitor right? I am going to go home and check the model number on the computer monitor. I just prefer the TV since it's much bigger and the color is much more vivid then the monitor.

old school tube tvs had a refresh rate of around 25fps. so its m uch higher in newer lcd based tvs/monitors.

because of limitations in the availale bandwidth via different connections to screens you have to reduce the refresh rate.