Map shadows problems(and traffic problems)

Hello, i am a 3d modeler and i love racer driving simulator so i started to make a area of my city but i have problems with shadows in CG verion. At the edges of the buildings the shadows look strange. Isn't there a way to make sharp and clear shadows and the light do not pass through the object edges?

And also i made a fast traffic loop line with 53 waypoints just to see how it works and it doesn't work, i have that traffic ini(it is a notepad for you just to verify it because this site didnt allowed me to upload it with the ini extension) uploaded here that you to verify and also i have that car: bmwx6m in cars folder. I will show you a screenshot with the racer traffic line( it is a loop i used the forward and bound the 53 waypoint with the 0 waypoint so should be fine). So why my simple taffic doesnt work? When i enter in game no traffic car appears.
Thank you in advance, Raoul, Romania.;)

Attachments

• imagetown1.jpg
    imagetown1.jpg
    174.8 KB · Views: 320
  • imagetown2.jpg
    imagetown2.jpg
    219.2 KB · Views: 312
  • imagetraffic1.jpg
    imagetraffic1.jpg
    244.6 KB · Views: 348
  • traffic.ini.txt
    7.6 KB · Views: 360
Light passing through edges is odd... I would expect a little bit but not that much. The reason it happens is that there's a small offset in the shadows cast - basically because the shadow map is a bunch of steps, like
|_
....|_
........|_
(since it's composed of discrete pixels)
In order to not have the 'points' on the ridge bleed through the front surface of objects, the offset shifts them back slightly.

bZ4zM.jpg

(atomic blast style illumination courtesy of 'sun ambient 0 0 0' in the console)
The only place I'd expect shadows to fail, though, is on surfaces facing the sun - in this picture, the road's facing the sun, and the wheel's shadow doesn't quite match up.

Have you checked that the normals are pointing the right way?