1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking to move out of console racing into iracing

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by MikeA63, Jul 13, 2016.

1. First i guess i should say hello,i have been racing Nascar for a few years on xbox 360,and honestly not willing to shell out money for a xbox one to race the same game in a new package,guess i should also say i only race online anymore ai racing just is so boring,so thats why looking to get into iracing,problem is i am disabled and have a very limted budget, maybe 500us dollars to spend on a newer pc mine is 7 years old,100 to 150us on a wheel,the tracks and cars i will work on as i go,since really only looking to run ovals roadcourses because of my disablity might be to much of a challenge till i get things down,i was wondering if anyone could recommend a prebuilt pc and wheel,thanks for reading any help would be greatly appreciated.
  2. Kenny Paton

Kenny Paton
    Backmarker Champion 2015 & so far this year. Staff Premium Member

Hi Mike, and welcome to Race Department. What are your PC specs, a lot of the older games run well on older machines and if the CPU is okay then some extra ram and a newer GPU may be all you need.
    As far as I'm aware iRacing doesn't require a heavy duty PC.to run smoothly.
  3. Kenny Paton

Kenny Paton
    Backmarker Champion 2015 & so far this year. Staff Premium Member

Hi Mike and welcome to Race Department. What are your PC specs, if the CPU is reasonable then some added ram and a new GPU might be all you need. As far as I'm aware, iRacing runs pretty smoothly on quite low spec machines, you can turn the eye candy down to help.
    As to wheels, then at the moment the best entry level one seems to be Thrustmaster T150.
    Maybe get some help in this thread I'm sure some one will be able to answer your questions.
  4. quicksilver384

Professional ginger and crash test dummy. mmm mmm. Staff