1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. #GiveAwayFriday. Win a copy of F1 2017 - The Game. Click here to join.

legal Overtake or not?

Discussion in 'F1 2011 - The Game' started by Anuraj Tapidas, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. Anuraj Tapidas

    Anuraj Tapidas

    Messages:
    99
    Ratings:
    +9
    I have this overtake here:



    In my view he is now on my wing mirror and there seems to be enough room to overtake.

    He claims that I pushed him onto the grass.
     
  2. Chris Hazeldine

    Chris Hazeldine

    Messages:
    673
    Ratings:
    +420
    You cut the top of Eau Rouge which gave you a speed advantage, so perhaps didn't deserve to be there in the first place....Difficult to judge because you can't see enough, but you did move over quite early when you could have stayed on the right.

    If you're talking about when you exit the pits, you look to be giving him enough room.
     
  3. Anuraj Tapidas

    Anuraj Tapidas

    Messages:
    99
    Ratings:
    +9
    At the point of the overtake. He allows the cut because he has most of the assists on and I don't have any. I don't think I pushed him off though he says I did. I am trying not to be biased so I will say after I made the overtake I saw him in the grass a bit.
     
  4. Chris Hazeldine

    Chris Hazeldine

    Messages:
    673
    Ratings:
    +420
    I don't fully understand why having assists on or not makes a cut ok? It's your choice to run with or without assists!

    I think you moved back onto the racing line too quickly, you can still see his proximity arrow to your left suggesting he was still there
     
  5. Anuraj Tapidas

    Anuraj Tapidas

    Messages:
    99
    Ratings:
    +9
    It's co-op, ok but was it legal?
     
  6. Chris Hazeldine

    Chris Hazeldine

    Messages:
    673
    Ratings:
    +420
    Fair enough.

    No I think you moved over too early when you could have left more room ;)
     
  7. Anuraj Tapidas

    Anuraj Tapidas

    Messages:
    99
    Ratings:
    +9
    Ok thank you. I will try give him a place next race maybe :p
     
  8. Chris Hazeldine

    Chris Hazeldine

    Messages:
    673
    Ratings:
    +420
    No worries. How are you guys finding the coop championship? I've wanted to do one but time is a bit short
     
  9. Anuraj Tapidas

    Anuraj Tapidas

    Messages:
    99
    Ratings:
    +9
    It's awesome. I got a whole series going on with him. InfactI will post it in the media section now.
     
  10. Sach

    Sach

    Messages:
    13
    Ratings:
    +2
    The overtake seemed fine, you just may have not completely cleared him when you moved back to the racing line. However, if the penalty system were accurate you would have a drive-through penalty for cutting Eau Rouge like that.
     
  11. Iulian Cezar

    Iulian Cezar

    Messages:
    94
    Ratings:
    +4
    You should have given him 1 car width up to the turn. You essentially pushed him onto grass, unless he decided to brake and would lose at least 2 seconds.
     
  12. Pritch

    Pritch
    Pritch

    Messages:
    100
    Ratings:
    +14
    that overtake was fine its down to him to back off , you were passed him ...
     
  13. David O'Reilly

    David O'Reilly
    A bad quali means I can go forwards in the race. Premium

    Messages:
    7,302
    Ratings:
    +6,167
    Shades of Hamilton Kobayashi at Spa.
    In my viiew you had track position and had made the pass stick. You moved back onto the racing lins sure but not suddenlly.
    The overtaken driver should have allowed you room the corner was yours.
    However you got the run on him with a corner cut at Eau Rouge so that part is debateable.
    Co Op is great fun.

    Somewhat similar scenario in Canada race (red bull/Helmut Marko free though) the link below where myself as the overtaken driver did not back off and suffered. Still I have to acknowledge that the corner was Dylans.
    (i was FigjamRACER in the vid).
    Keep it up.
    http://www.racedepartment.com/forum...nd-career-with-commentary.44846/#post-1009743
     
  14. Graham Laing

    Graham Laing
    ........ Mostly harmless Staff

    Messages:
    6,408
    Ratings:
    +2,123
    I am with the last 2 posters. The pass was clean, you had track position (just), the corner was yours, he should have backed out of it, the position was already lost. Not quite so easy with all that spray in his face, that might have disorientated him a little bit, and so he may have lost sight of the edge of the track and touched the grass.

    As stated by others, the whole move was essentially illegal because of the extra speed gain when cutting Eau Rouge, I think the stewards would have had you for that one. :)
     
  15. Bradley Capps-Jenner

    Bradley Capps-Jenner

    Messages:
    808
    Ratings:
    +269
    In my opinion it is illegal, because you cut the last part of Eau Rouge which gave you a speed advantage over him.
     
  16. Anuraj Tapidas

    Anuraj Tapidas

    Messages:
    99
    Ratings:
    +9
    We aren't counting that bit just the pass.
     
  17. Bradley Capps-Jenner

    Bradley Capps-Jenner

    Messages:
    808
    Ratings:
    +269
    Oh, sorry. It's hard to tell, it doesn't look like you made contact with him in the mirror, i.e there is no shown visual contact, but the way his car moved onto the grass kind of looks like there was contact. If there were any contact there that pushed him onto the grass on a straight, I think in the FIA F1 regulations, if you force a car onto the grass on a straight by making contact, it is seen as an illegal overtake, as it could put the driver in danger, in real life.
    Also bare in mind, in some lobbies, the connection isn't the best, so the cars may be in different positions on the players screen. It has happened with my friend and myself before. When we both sent each others footage to each other, we saw two different incidents,one when he, on my screen cut my up and consequently I went into the barrier, and on the other just, I suddenly lost my front wing and spun off into the barrier on a straight
     
  18. Michael Brown

    Michael Brown

    Messages:
    622
    Ratings:
    +245
    Well like others have said you gained an unfair advantage when you cut Eau Rouge, but if we were to ignore that, it's difficult to decide who gets the blame. You cut across him, but even if you didn't, you would have been well ahead going into the next corner. So even though you caused a collision, he wouldn't have caught you since you had DRS. I assume the real life stewards would judge that based on result (for example Vettel forced Button off the track in Japan, but since there was no collision, there was no penalty). Maybe if you sent him into the wall, it would be illegal. You had track position and were widening the gap to him.
     
  19. Andrew Bortz

    Andrew Bortz
    GoldenBortz

    Messages:
    2,253
    Ratings:
    +253
    The overtake was fine I think it was just a case of a tiny contact if any, but had that of been me who cut eau rouge even if I had the speed to pass I wouldn't of done so because of the unfair advantage.