Laser scanned ?

Hi,

I am a beginner in simracing and there's a question I ask myself .....
rFactor 2 is considered one of the best simulation, so why does not have scanned laser tracks? (I'm not talking budget here)
To talk about a game as a "simulation" should it not contain high precision tracks?
Are ISI tracks as accurate as scanned laser?

You can't laserscan fictional tracks.
Odd, I always tell people that Toban, Mills Metro, Lienz and Essington are laserscanned too :) And will continue to do so just to make a point this whole laserscanned stuff is so overrated. It's not a requirement to have a good race simulation.

There is a large group in the community that seem to have something against fictional tracks. I bet you that the majority of them actually thinks those awesome tracks are real life venues :)

The simple answer re. RF2 is that laser scanning is expensive and ISI don't have the cash.

If you are using simracing to train for a real motor racing career then laser scanned tracks obviously have some advantages. For the rest of us, I think the main benefit is that laser scanned tracks can seem more alive (surface-wise) than a lot of other tracks. As for fictional tracks, although some of the RF/RF2 tracks are fun there are so many good real life tracks available in the various sims now I really can't see the point.

Hi,
To talk about a game as a "simulation" should it not contain high precision tracks?

High precision is relative to vehicle's speed and update rate of physics engine. The highest calculation rate any racing game physics engine currently uses is 400 updates per second (rF2, AMS).