F1 2012 Is steam needed to play F1 2012?

F1 2012 The Game (Codemasters)
Hi Guys

I am new to this game and steam so please bear with me. If i buy the box version of F1 2012 do i still need to go through steam to run it? Is steam the only way to activate the game? The reason i ask is because i have never installed steam and i am not sure i want to. Any info on this?
Thanks

Yes steam is required to run/install/play this game. All you do is put the disc in and just follow the prompts on screen and steam will take care of the rest. Fairly simple and easy to do. Steam is great to have on a game because it helps keep it up to date with the latest patch updates. Is there anything else you would like to know? :)

Hi DesertFox28
Thanks for the reply. I have been shying away from using steam because i didnt want to install any unnecessary software inside my PC. If i need it, what are the advantages of owning the box version compared to just buying the CD key from steam and downloading it? Do i need the box version? Thanks for taking the time to answer my noob questions.

Well even if you were to buy the box version of F1 2012 it comes with steam support. The only difference between the two is that buying through steam you will have to download the game where as the box version all you do is install it and you don't need to use up your monthly download quota (if you have one). Now Steam itself as a program is great. It provides an easy way to purchase other games at cheap prices and stores them in what you could call a digital library meaning that once you install it you do not require the disc be in your PC at all times. Steam being installed in your PC will only take up a few Mega Bytes, it's not a big program to have installed and does provide an easy way to play all your games.