1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I tried rFactor again, this time successfully.

Discussion in 'rFactor' started by nesrulz, Apr 29, 2017.

  1. nesrulz

    nesrulz

    Messages:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hello,

    I paused a few years with SIM racing, primarily with LFS...

    Many times I tried to connect to this SIM, unsuccessfully. It was many years ago...

    Now I found the right mods/plugins.
    I really enjoyed past 2 days with this mods (default car setups):

    Mod: DRM REVIVAL v2.0b
    Mod: Historic GT & Touring Cars v1.96 by HistorX
    Track: Laguna Seca v1.20 by Com8

    rF have advanced the FFB and steering from the time when I tried this simulation. I have no objections for these two mods, especially for HistorX.

    btw, rF works great on my old computer: Intel CPU E7200 + nVidia GPU 9600 GT, with MOMO Racing FFB.

    Regards,
    nesrulz
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2017
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Rupe Wilson

    Rupe Wilson
    Senior HistorX Driver Staff Premium

    Messages:
    14,722
    Ratings:
    +6,369
  3. nesrulz

    nesrulz

    Messages:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    • Like Like x 3
  4. nesrulz

    nesrulz

    Messages:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    New great mod for me: Formula 1 1994 LE 1.3 and Trackpack 1.2 by F1-Sim-Racer. The sound is fantastic.

    This reminded me of the GP2 (this time with Senna), my first real SIM. I even had a localized fan website dedicated to Grand Prix 2.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2017
  5. Erwin Greven

    Erwin Greven
    retired from this site. Premium

    Messages:
    1,518
    Ratings:
    +256
    I should try that, if i get it installed. Tried a few times before, but didn't succeed
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2017
  6. Denis Betty

    Denis Betty
    Donut Den - Retarded HistorX Club Racer Staff Premium

    Messages:
    2,124
    Ratings:
    +1,020
    If you need help just ask.
     
  7. Erwin Greven

    Erwin Greven
    retired from this site. Premium

    Messages:
    1,518
    Ratings:
    +256
    After trying it three times with the tutorial next to me. Maybe one last try.
     
  8. Rupe Wilson

    Rupe Wilson
    Senior HistorX Driver Staff Premium

    Messages:
    14,722
    Ratings:
    +6,369
    Which bit is not working for you in the install,
     
  9. Erwin Greven

    Erwin Greven
    retired from this site. Premium

    Messages:
    1,518
    Ratings:
    +256
    i tried it several times and at several moments it didn't work. Tried it again three days ago. This time it didn't work with getting it licensed. Sorry for the inconvenience. I am not going to ruin an rFactor install again. Because even when i installed an rFactor light version next to it, the old rF1 install got corrupted also.
     
  10. Rupe Wilson

    Rupe Wilson
    Senior HistorX Driver Staff Premium

    Messages:
    14,722
    Ratings:
    +6,369
    Just as a reference are you using the C drive of windows, program files (x86) folder to install your game into.
    As we have a diver who is alo having issues with this with Windows 10, after never having issues with win 7 using the same folders.
     
  11. Erwin Greven

    Erwin Greven
    retired from this site. Premium

    Messages:
    1,518
    Ratings:
    +256
    i did install it on a different drive than C:
     
  12. Denis Betty

    Denis Betty
    Donut Den - Retarded HistorX Club Racer Staff Premium

    Messages:
    2,124
    Ratings:
    +1,020
    Are you on W10 Erwin?
    I had a nightmare installing the mod last night and a friend had problems with his install.
    In the end I had to remove all trace of rF1 from my PC and it installed first time.
    It occured to me just after I got it working, that it's always worth making a new profile in game. That sometimes stops it crashing.
     
  13. Rupe Wilson

    Rupe Wilson
    Senior HistorX Driver Staff Premium

    Messages:
    14,722
    Ratings:
    +6,369
    I must admit i only use the steam versions of GTL and rfactor,
    just been playing around with it, to see what works and ive yet not to install and run.
    5 copies later
    I even Installed HistorX into a clean blank folder,(no rfactor in there) all by itself. then copied the whole lot across to a copy of rfactor taken from steam and it fired up ok.

    its a real mystery why some are having issues, for example i know Denis knows what he is doing and jack is more than competent at following the instructions for example..

    GLT only has to be installed you don't even have to make a profile in game on the steam version. its not even been run on my new install of win10 x64
    The same goes for rfactor, the steam version has never even been fired up and a profile made.
    All ive done is ever taken copies from them, i class them as my master/vanilla copies of each sim.

    maybe i could zip up the unpacked install of HistoX from my blank folder :whistling: its only 6 gig zipped
     
  14. Rupe Wilson

    Rupe Wilson
    Senior HistorX Driver Staff Premium

    Messages:
    14,722
    Ratings:
    +6,369
    Might be time to make a vid on how to install it..
    you watch it will crash when i make it, just to make sure its not something silly thats causing a issue
     
  15. Denis Betty

    Denis Betty
    Donut Den - Retarded HistorX Club Racer Staff Premium

    Messages:
    2,124
    Ratings:
    +1,020
    I took a copy last night. Maybe i should zip it and save it to a memory stick. Good idea Rupe.

    EDIT: Stig made a vid, but he doesn't follow the manual, so I was worried that it'd muddy the waters.
     
  16. james

    james

    Messages:
    58
    Ratings:
    +8
    Mod edit..
    we do not allow things like that, the mod requires you have GT legends..
    we don't do workarounds..
    We have a good relationship with the HistorX guys and would not want to spoil this :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 29, 2017
  17. Erwin Greven

    Erwin Greven
    retired from this site. Premium

    Messages:
    1,518
    Ratings:
    +256
    Win7pro64