How to make track gravel

Hi I am new to BTB and have watched a few vid tuts on it. I am still at the early learning stages, so will no doubt require plenty of help as I go along. There is one thing already that is bugging me. How on earth do I make a track gravel, all i see is one texture for tarmac. Ive no idea what to do.

I make a basic track. I then click the "Edit Materials" button which presents me with options for it. Now all is see in here is two windows, on the right is a thumnail of a texture with the title "Tarmac001", the left window has text in it:
- Road
- Tarmac
-- Tarmac001

So when i click the thumbnail of the texture in the right window, options come up under it.
Yet i see nowhere to change the road surface.
is it "Racer Surface"?? when i change this to gravel, then export my track to RBR its still a tarmac surface?.

I go back to BTB and do the same, this time I notice in the corner "Hide Unused", when i click off that lots more options come up in the left window, so i click "Road".. but stll i only see option for tarmac. I installed gbrbr xpack (on advice from somone).. but its still the same, no gravel road surface options anywhere to be seen at all.
Can BTB do gravel?.. or can this software only make tarmac tracks, I just cant understand this being the case? ...

Ive no idea how to make a track gravel, no options for it, no textures.. no help... no vid tuts on how to change road surface... can somone please help?

Thanks
Pan

arrggg

EDIT:

Ok, im getting more and more confused here.
Here is what I am doing step by step

I open BTB
I tick the UK and AU XPacks
I click the "Create Open Track"
I Then create a simple Staight road.
This road by defualt is Tarmac
Now I want to make this road gravel.
I click the "Edit Matiarls" Button
I see a window with 2 windows. On the left window it has the word "Default" with a "+" button to expand it.