• "Bite off more than you can chew and then chew like hell." - Peter Brock
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Thrustmaster 24 Hours of Le Mans (LIVE)
Click the cross to dismiss this video
Dear fan, please make sure to like the video and subscribe to our channel to be eligible to win this round's prize provided by our sponsor.

How to get my skin ingame?

Discussion in 'Stock Car Extreme' started by Lars Brugman, Aug 7, 2012.

  1. Lars Brugman

    Lars Brugman

    Messages:
    2,060
    Ratings:
    +743
    Hi,

    How do I need to save my skin and where should I put it?

    Thanks
     
  2. Von Butters

    Von Butters
    Premium

    Messages:
    2,496
    Ratings:
    +987
    That would be one for Dave...
     
  3. Dave Begley

    Dave Begley
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,126
    Ratings:
    +559
    These settings work for me:

    Save as DDS

    DXT5 with interpolated alpha

    Where to put it is the big question. You can either save it over an existing skin which is less work and lets you use it online without mismatches.

    Or

    Create a Folder in "GSC2012/GameData/Vehicles/Vehicle type

    Name the Folder the Team Name

    Save the DDS in there.

    Then you need to make a .VEH file. (use notepad)
    Its important that the Skin name and the .VEH file name are the same. I usually just copy an exisiting veh file and edit it, then save it as my own skin name.



    DefaultLivery="SkinName.DDS"
    Extra0="Cockpit"
    Extra1="Cockpit"
    Extra2="Windshield"
    Extra4="Cockpit"
    Extra5="Cockpit"
    Extra6="Cockpit"
    Extra7="Cockpit"

    HDVehicle=StockV8.hdv
    Graphics=StockV8_2012_Pug.gen
    Spinner=StockV8_2012_Spinner.gen
    GenString=PUGFAABL
    Cameras=StockV8_cams.cam
    Sounds=StockV8.sfx
    HeadPhysics=StockV8_Headphysics.ini
    Cockpit=StockV8_cockpitinfo.ini


    Number=Number
    Team="TeamName"
    PitGroup="Group16"
    Driver="DriverName"
    Description="StockCar V8: DriverName and Number"
    Engine="V8"
    Manufacturer="StockCarV8"
    Classes="StockV8"

    FullTeamName="TeamName"

    Category="Stock Car V8, Peugeot"




    Hope this helps
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Paul Monaf

    Paul Monaf

    Messages:
    195
    Ratings:
    +64
    I cant seem to get any custom skins to show up in game ( the skins were down loaded
    any advise would be great
    thanks
    Paul
     
  5. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore
    Premium

    Messages:
    310
    Ratings:
    +88
    When downloaded ,drag and drop or Copy and paste into vehicles / and the folder of what car skins you downloaded ,example F_Classic.
    What cars do you see in folder ?
     
  6. Paul Monaf

    Paul Monaf

    Messages:
    195
    Ratings:
    +64
    thanks for your reply
    I down loaded this vehicle
    http://www.nogripracing.com/details.php?filenr=34562
    I placed the vehicle in the main file
    Gamedata/vehicles/stockv8
    the file clearly shows up in the stockb8 dir , but nothing shows up in the games show room
     
  7. ledfoot57

    ledfoot57

    Messages:
    63
    Ratings:
    +19
    The skin you are trying Paul is for GSC 2010
     
  8. Paul Monaf

    Paul Monaf

    Messages:
    195
    Ratings:
    +64
    ah right thanks do you know where the templates are for 2012
     
  9. Tiens Van Zyl

    Tiens Van Zyl

    Messages:
    466
    Ratings:
    +194
  10. Von Butters

    Von Butters
    Premium

    Messages:
    2,496
    Ratings:
    +987
    Move along, nothing to see here!
     
  11. Justin Swan

    Justin Swan
    RD-DVLC

    Messages:
    3,691
    Ratings:
    +966
    Where do I put the skin pack files for the minis?
    Thanks
     
  12. Xavier de Carvalho

    Xavier de Carvalho

    Messages:
    1,941
    Ratings:
    +794
    How do i get rid of the numbers on the windows. Tried editing and re-editing and nothing seems to work.
     
  13. Marco Bijl

    Marco Bijl
    adMAXIhater (O.O.O.)

    Messages:
    6,558
    Ratings:
    +3,186
    Did you remove the numbers in the Alpha layer of the windows, as well as the normal layers?

    The alpha layer determines the transparancy of the windows, so you need to remove it there as well (make it the same colour as the windows)
     
  14. Xavier de Carvalho

    Xavier de Carvalho

    Messages:
    1,941
    Ratings:
    +794
    I erased the numbers from those layers and I even tried deleting the layers, and still no luck :/ I'll try making it the same colour
     
  15. Marco Bijl

    Marco Bijl
    adMAXIhater (O.O.O.)

    Messages:
    6,558
    Ratings:
    +3,186
    How are you using your skin? Did you make a .veh file, or did you overwrite a current skin file?
     
  16. Xavier de Carvalho

    Xavier de Carvalho

    Messages:
    1,941
    Ratings:
    +794
    I made a .veh
     
  17. Marco Bijl

    Marco Bijl
    adMAXIhater (O.O.O.)

    Messages:
    6,558
    Ratings:
    +3,186
    Try the following:
    Create a sub folder in the Mini folder (..\gamedata\vehicles\Mini Challenge\foldername)
    Put all the files you have there. Make sure you have the names right. I made a screenshot of a working skin for you, including the .veh file, and all file names. Make sure you use the same format (so the name of your .veh file + Body, Windshield, Windows etc.)

    Test it again, and let me know if it works. If it doesnt, please make the same screenshot as I did, and post it here ok :)

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Xavier de Carvalho

    Xavier de Carvalho

    Messages:
    1,941
    Ratings:
    +794
    Thank you:)I fixed the problem thanks to your screenshot, i realised that i had named the windshield etc. just "windshield" instead of the name and then the word windshield. LOL Rookie error. Thank you for helping Marco Bijl.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Marco Bijl

    Marco Bijl
    adMAXIhater (O.O.O.)

    Messages:
    6,558
    Ratings:
    +3,186
    Good to hear! Have fun with the new skin!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Xavier de Carvalho

    Xavier de Carvalho

    Messages:
    1,941
    Ratings:
    +794
    Right... new problem now. When i try and race with my custom skins together in the same race, I can only see the one i'm using, the others just have black and white stripes.