1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. #GiveAwayFriday. Win a copy of F1 2017 - The Game. Click here to join.

How to adjust the FOV

Discussion in 'F1 2010 - The Game' started by chadsmith20, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. chadsmith20

    chadsmith20

    Messages:
    13
    Ratings:
    +0
    *Make a copy of all original files*

    First - Download Binary xml converter from here: Binary xml converter.zip
    [​IMG]

    Second - Copy Binary xml files into the cars folder you want to edit. I'm going to use fe0, which is Ferrari.
    [​IMG]

    Third - Open Command Prompt (by typing cmd from Start menu then search) and have it read to the path of the cars folder that cameras is located in. In this case that is:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\f1 2010\cars\fe0

    At Command Prompt. Copy the file path and then in command prompt right-click and press paste. Don't forget to put (cd) before the path.

    C:\Users\Chad(This will be your computer name)>cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\f1 2010\cars\fe0

    [​IMG]

    (Then press enter)

    It should look like this:

    [​IMG]

    Fourth - Now to convert to a readable file.

    Copy this: binXML.exe --textxml=cameras.txt.xml cameras.xml

    Right click at the cmd screen and select paste.

    [​IMG]

    Press Enter and you should see a cameras.txt file in C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\f1 2010\cars\fe0

    [​IMG]


    Leave cmd open, you will need it later.

    Right click cameras.txt and open in Notepad or Word.

    To edit the cockpit view press F3 for search.

    In search box type head-cam and press enter.

    It will be the first line. It should read:

    <View type="Head" ident="head-cam" reverseCamera="head-cam_reverse" hidden="false" spectator="false" renderParticlesBeforeGrass="false" transitionType="switch" transitionSpeed="0.0000" transitionStrength="0.0000">

    Now move down two line and you will see: <Parameter name="fov" type="scalar" value="25.0000" />

    Bolded number will be different for you. I have already edited mine. To change your FOV just edit the bolded line. I like 25.0000 better.

    When done, File > Save.

    Fifth - Convert back to Binary.

    Go into cmd again so it reads: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\f1 2010\cars\fe0

    Like it did before.

    Copy and paste this to cmd

    binXML.exe --binxml=cameras.xml cameras.txt.xml

    Press enter and you are done.

    Here is what 30.0000 looks like.

    [​IMG]

    Here is gameplay with 25.0000.


    Here was default FOV, big difference.
     
  2. MS7XWDC

    MS7XWDC

    Messages:
    446
    Ratings:
    +17
    can you just let us download yours?
     
  3. chadsmith20

    chadsmith20

    Messages:
    13
    Ratings:
    +0
    That works too. I only have the Ferrari. I don't know if you can use the same one for every car or if you have to edit the cameras file for each car.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Abdul Al-Amry

    Abdul Al-Amry
    2011 RD Indy 500 Winner

    Messages:
    2,298
    Ratings:
    +19
    Arent we the lazy ones

    LOL LOL.

    Would have done the same m8.
     
  5. Rob Simms

    Rob Simms

    Messages:
    363
    Ratings:
    +4
    I think 30.0000 is looking good!
     
  6. chadsmith20

    chadsmith20

    Messages:
    13
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, if anyone is interested. I found out you can put the FOV you want in any car. Some of the cars will look different, so for example, if you like 30 in the Ferrari and then get in the Williams and 30 is too close, just put 35 or 40 in the Williams folder.

    I did FOV's 20 through 70. You will have to delete the FOV numbers when you put them in the cars folder. It will have to read "cameras" only.
     

    Attached Files:

    • FOV.rar
      File size:
      54.4 KB
      Views:
      307
  7. slimsymeat

    slimsymeat

    Messages:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, and a few lines down you can adjust the height, if you feel to low in the cockpit.
     
  8. David O Gorman

    David O Gorman

    Messages:
    157
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thank you chadsmith20 much appreciated.
     
  9. Rob Simms

    Rob Simms

    Messages:
    363
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have been playing around with the FOV. I think the only cars that need adjusting are Mclaren (45), Redbull (45), Ferrari (40), and possibly the HRT. I think all of the rest are
    still at normal settings for single screen.
     
  10. Dean Lawrence

    Dean Lawrence

    Messages:
    94
    Ratings:
    +0
    mate this is awesome. 3 screens out of the box on this game was a bit lame. But this fix is fantastic. Thank's for sharing. You've made my (long) weekend!
     
  11. Richard Bunschoten

    Richard Bunschoten

    Messages:
    351
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great work man , thnx for that... Greets ( Spyah )
     
  12. Richard Bunschoten

    Richard Bunschoten

    Messages:
    351
    Ratings:
    +0
    make that :

    binXML.exe --textxml=cameras.txt cameras.xml

    without the .xml

    ;)

    btw , for me personly, i thought the camera was to low in the cockpit , i felt like a midget in there , so i lifted the cam a bit , to be found a few lines lower , position y = ... iu belief i edited 0,666 to 0,7 or something , now i have 35 fov and 0,7 cam hight , i thonk its fine like that, thats in the virgin btw ...
     
  13. chadsmith20

    chadsmith20

    Messages:
    13
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. ceth

    ceth

    Messages:
    31
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

    Anyone managed to modify the bonnet view ? (or maybe it's bumper view, the one with no part of the car visible, only track)

    I want to raise it a little, and play a bit with FOV too (I'm also using triplescreen).

    I have tryied by modifying bonnet view (FOV) but it didn't change anything (will try again with bumper). Also those 2 views (bonnet and bumper) don't have position settings like head-cam. There is only an offset setting with x-y-z coordinates.

    If anyone has modified this view with success please share experience :)
     
  15. ceth

    ceth

    Messages:
    31
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I found out for nose cam: it's bumper cam, and height can be set using offset y value.
     
  16. foxpapa

    foxpapa

    Messages:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I try to do it on seven, but it doesn't seem to work.
    I have no error but no new files too...
    How can I edit the cameras files on seven ?
    (sorry for my english)
     
  17. AprilSwift

    AprilSwift

    Messages:
    157
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thank you so much for this post.....I now know how to make my own cam to my liking.
     
  18. Mr Pibb

    Mr Pibb

    Messages:
    189
    Ratings:
    +102
    If you adjust your FOV low for triplescreen (like 30 to 40 or so) I find the head shaking gets out of hand.

    Not sure if this is mentioned elsewhere, but the following lines affect head shake:

    To reduce head shake (at speed) alter:
    <Parameter name="windSpeed" type="scalar" value="0.0500" />.
    I altered mine to 0.0310 but anything from 0.025 to 0.0370 is probably acceptable.

    To reduce head shake (over bumps) alter:
    <Parameter name="bump_interval " type="scalar" value="0.4000" />
    and
    <Parameter name="bump_nonbumplevel" type="scalar" value="0.4000" />
    I altered mine to 0.2500 but anything from 0.2000 to 0.3000 is pretty good.

    These values are in the "head-cam" section. The examples given are for Williams team, not sure if they're the same values for other teams, but the general principle should apply.

    Wind buffeting needs to be set to true of course.
     
  19. Mitch_R

    Mitch_R

    Messages:
    32
    Ratings:
    +0
    Helped me a lot in editing camera-settings to my taste... Thanks for this Thread
     
  20. sid_dominic56

    sid_dominic56

    Messages:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the post this really helped me in creating custom camera mods for the cars to be used in my machinima based on f1 2010. Please post the ideas for making a freecam in the game because i have not been able to figure that out. I tried really hard but no solution so please reply .......