• "I've tried everything other than jumping out of a plane, but nothing gives you an adrenaline rush like racing a car." - Nigel Mansell
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do you initiate a pit stop?

Discussion in 'Assetto Corsa' started by Dan Foye, Jan 1, 2016.

  1. Dan Foye

    Dan Foye

    Messages:
    5
    Ratings:
    +1
    EDIT:

    TLDR for anyone who stumbles upon this thread:

    Pit stops are only possible in Assetto Corsa during Races in Online Multiplayer. (NOT Practice or Qualifying.)

    end EDIT
    ------------
    I know that it is only in Multiplayer that Pit Stops work. But, how do I make a pit stop happen? I have read that I am supposed to "just pull into the stall and it will happen automagically."

    Well, it doesn't seem to work for me. I can't seem to find an answer.

    I can't be the only one that has this question.

    Please help, and thanks in advance from me and everyone else that is wondering.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2016
  2. William Levesque

    William Levesque

    Messages:
    4,894
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    You enter pitlane and stumble around choosing pit options all the while driving and stopping in your box.

    It's so much fun and very practical !

    :rolleyes:
     
  3. Dan Foye

    Dan Foye

    Messages:
    5
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK.

    So, I should remember which box is mine.

    Why doesn't the stupid pit guy hold out the pit pole/sign like in Real Life™?
    I am quite pleased with the rest of the game, but this pit situation is strange.

    The pit guy at box number 1 seems to be the only one that lowers the sign, signifying for a driver to Stop Here. Of course, that isn't the correct box to stop in, as I have figured out.

    Modders, where you at? Can we get a pit guy to lower the sign for the correct pit box?
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2016
  4. Majuh

    Majuh

    Messages:
    392
    Ratings:
    +106
    There is a marker:

     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. JoelGL

    JoelGL

    Messages:
    1,020
    Ratings:
    +69
    Cool, how is it set up in MP, does the server admins have to set it up? And then would it require an app?
     
  6. Dan Foye

    Dan Foye

    Messages:
    5
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you for the video, Majuh.
    But, I have driven down the pit lane several times and I have never seen that white outline marker and arrow that displays in the driver's pit box in that video. I will have to check again, though. Maybe I'm just blind or didn't know what to look for...
    Also, I could swear that I have stopped in several different stalls and nothing ever happens.
    But do you have to do something to get that marker to appear?

    And that was pit box #1. Coincidence, or is that always the box?

    And if it matters, my game is Steam version 1.4.3 64 bit
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2016
  7. Dan Foye

    Dan Foye

    Messages:
    5
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just got the game a week ago, but from what I understand, pit stops are only in MP and do not require an app. (So I am told)
     
  8. PhilS13

    PhilS13
    Premium

    Messages:
    188
    Ratings:
    +126
    You need to be in a race in MP. Not in practice, not in Q. Race only, MP only.
     
  9. Dan Foye

    Dan Foye

    Messages:
    5
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ah-ha!

    I think that's it!

    I never tried in a race, because, I WANTED TO PRACTICE!

    OK, thanks!

    EDIT:
    Thanks Phil! I got a late Christmas present when my crack pit crew performed a flawless pit stop.

    ( I finished 16th of 24, but that's not the point.)
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
    • Haha Haha x 1
  10. SakL

    SakL
    Black flagged in a club race! Premium

    Messages:
    159
    Ratings:
    +108
    • Like Like x 2
  11. rocafella1978

    rocafella1978
    Premium

    Messages:
    532
    Ratings:
    +81
    is there pit stop/ request pit stop button?? for single player? if so how do I request or initiate pit request?
     
  12. Joseph Maxx

    Joseph Maxx

    Messages:
    564
    Ratings:
    +199
    SP pitstops are not available yet, only in MP and AI races. If you want to pit during AI races just pull into the pit area and you'll see the pit icon floating above your team's pit area.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Radu Oros

    Radu Oros

    Messages:
    1,276
    Ratings:
    +381
    Single Player means playing any game mode that isn't online/multiplayer. Single Player (SP) doesn't mean practicing alone on the track, it means that you are the only player (human) connected to the game, either or not against robot players, the AI.

    Well, all this is to say that SP pitstops are available, but only in racing mode, not in practice, hotlap, or qualifying. Only in race mode/session. So in race mode the player only has to enter the pits and stop where it shows the PIT indicator.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. Joseph Maxx

    Joseph Maxx

    Messages:
    564
    Ratings:
    +199
    You may very well be correct but as far as I'm concerned single player means one car on track ie. hotlap, practice. In offline races there is more than one player on the track, even if they are computer generated.
     
  15. Rob Nelson

    Rob Nelson
    Premium

    Messages:
    39
    Ratings:
    +18
    Single player means only 1 human player. The AI are basically characters in the game.
     
  16. William Wester

    William Wester
    Premium

    Messages:
    1,129
    Ratings:
    +379
    I agree with @Rob Nelson and @Radu Oros, most everyone I know thinks of single player as any type of racing that isn't "online" or "multiplayer". The would include hotlap, practice, or racing against the AI.
    My $.02
     
  17. Helmut Skrdla

    Helmut Skrdla
    Premium

    Messages:
    376
    Ratings:
    +216
    Singleplayer includes all options still available after you pull the network cable out of the computer. Number of cars on track don't enter into the definition.

    Sadly regards pitstops the AI only stops for fuel, not for tires. So with an increased wear rate it's possible for a human player to require a pit stop, but the AI will just wear it's tires out...
     
  18. Marco Waechter

    Marco Waechter

    Messages:
    195
    Ratings:
    +60
    I've (had) the same problem in a 90 min. race on a server weeks ago: No white pit box or marker visible in the pitlane, when I entered the pits half through the race. The pit crew was not ready, so no pit stop possible.. (except pressing ESC->'back to pits' in the pits and getting a 30 or 40 sec. penalty).
    Like the thread opener I'm wondering how (which button you have to press, or else) to initiate a pit stop pre entering the pits as well.

    Only drove shorter races with no need to do a pit stop so far, so I'll have to try again in some race session.
    Maybe then I'm wiser. :)
     
  19. Alan Bessler

    Alan Bessler

    Messages:
    29
    Ratings:
    +3
    This is why I like Pcars a lot better..