HELP! I have a suspicion my PC PSU is dying :(

Hi Guys

I think my PC's power supply is dying, I have had random freezes etc. recently while playing games, and so forth.

Let me be clear, I am not a PSU expert by any means, but apparently from what I've been reading is that the below readings are not good, e.g. the +12 must be as close to 12V as possible?

Can anyone maybe shed some light on this?

SIW Sensor screenshot:
395321_10150521284403519_641568518_8705394_1945166799_n.jpg

Thanks for ANY advice!

You are correct, your PSU is just about dead according to those readings. However, I would use a PSU tester to be sure that those readings are accurate as most times software readings are not accurate. A decent PSU tester costs around $15 US from Newegg and they are very easy to use. You could also use a regular volt meter to see what it looks like as well.

As a general rule though, the voltages should not vary more than 10% from the specified value. 12V can drop to just under 11V, 5V can drop to 4.5V etc. If after using a meter you are still seeing values like you posted, then by all means, replace the PSU as soon as possible.

You are correct, your PSU is just about dead according to those readings. However, I would use a PSU tester to be sure that those readings are accurate as most times software readings are not accurate. A decent PSU tester costs around $15 US from Newegg and they are very easy to use. You could also use a regular volt meter to see what it looks like as well.

As a general rule though, the voltages should not vary more than 10% from the specified value. 12V can drop to just under 11V, 5V can drop to 4.5V etc. If after using a meter you are still seeing values like you posted, then by all means, replace the PSU as soon as possible.

Thank you for the advice. How must I use the tester exactly? When the PC is on, or off?

Has anyone here found similar readings through SIW, whilst having good readings with a tester?