• “Just being a mediocre driver has never been my ambition. That's not my style” ― Michael Schumacher
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Have a chance to win a copy of F1 2017 The Game (PC) by following RaceDepartment on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Twitch, Steam and / or YouTube.

GTX1060 and Racer issues? Any thoughts?

Discussion in 'Racer Physics and Technical' started by Mr Whippy, Feb 7, 2017.

  1. Mr Whippy

    Mr Whippy

    Messages:
    2,992
    Ratings:
    +461
    I can't seem to get Racer RC5c running here, even on a fresh install on my MSI GTX73VR laptop running Win10.

    Qlog is as follows:
    Tue Feb 07 19:33:48 (ERR ): [racer] wglGetProcAddress(glProgramVertexLimitNV) failed [gllextmgr.cpp:143 / check_wglGetProcAddress]
    Tue Feb 07 19:33:48 (INFO ): [racer] Render engine using Cg (4.40 - Build 20.19.15.4454) [dgpushader.cpp:47 / DGPUShaderManager::DGPUShaderManager]
    Tue Feb 07 19:33:49 (INFO ): [racer] DGPUShaderManager::Init() Geometry shading is not supported on this card (ATI?). [dgpushader.cpp:139 / DGPUShaderManager::Init]
    Tue Feb 07 19:33:49 (WARN ): [racer] DGPUShader:Load(data/renderer/shaders/dyn_standard_v.cg): The profile is not supported. [qerror.cpp:41 / QShowCGErrors]
    Tue Feb 07 19:33:49 (INFO ): [racer] Graphics card has support for 0 groups, 0 barriers [dframelock.cpp:367 / DFrameLock::GetFunctions]


    Is this just a Win10 issue? Maybe a GTX1060 GPU issue? Racer issue?

    Racer trips up over even the most basic shader complie, so dyn_standard_v.cg in this case.

    Is anyone else seeing this with newer GPUs or ATI cards etc?

    This kind of error is completely new to me. I'm surprised it's not working.

    My Win7/GTX760 load up fine, Win10/GTX1060 don't.

    Maybe OGL version in the latest nVidia drivers?


    Thanks for any thoughts/advice at all, as I'm sure someone else has had this upgrading to a newer machine?!

    Thanks

    Dave
     
  2. Mr Whippy

    Mr Whippy

    Messages:
    2,992
    Ratings:
    +461
    No joy in Panthera too.

    But my GLSL version doesn't work properly (maybe I broke it)


    Time to start digging. It'll be a real pain if Racer won't run in Win10 on a GTX1060!

    Might have to WINE Racer via Linux haha!
     
  3. Stereo

    Stereo

    Messages:
    2,462
    Ratings:
    +1,497
    My gtx760 with 369.09 works fine in Windows 10 just as a datapoint. (tried RC5d and RC5c)
     
  4. Harey

    Harey

    Messages:
    1,373
    Ratings:
    +614
    I have a GTX970 on Win10 and not had an issue.Is it possible you could try an older driver? Does the non-CG version of Racer still work?
     
  5. Mr Whippy

    Mr Whippy

    Messages:
    2,992
    Ratings:
    +461
    Thanks for those data reference points. It gives me some perspective on possible faults.

    Being Windows 10 I've no idea what driver is actually running, I'm sure I installed an nVidia one but who knows if Windows is running that or using it's own haha.

    The solution here is probably to get Win7 working on the laptop then I can sack off Win10 for 4 or 5 years until it gets good :D


    I'll try the oldest 1060 drivers I can find and then work forward!
     
  6. Harey

    Harey

    Messages:
    1,373
    Ratings:
    +614
    You can switch the automatic driver update off, somewhere, I had to do it for my Fanatec Wheel to work reliably, otherwise Win10 would just switch to some generic driver and keep the wheel from working.

    I'm not sure your issue is with Win10, I'm afraid it might be with the 1060. No obvious proof though. Try things until you can figure out a solution, and make sure to record that solution for future use.
     
  7. Mr Whippy

    Mr Whippy

    Messages:
    2,992
    Ratings:
    +461
    I'll admit I'm lost with Win10 compared to previous versions of Windows.

    I turned off lots of stuff and 'broke' the install maybe... so I've imaged it and will reset it and have another bash with everything as standard.
    I've had a few other problems too so it's worth a check!

    Stuff like .net frameworks are near impossible to put on there without auto-update being on, and yet I've had real nightmares with that on my wife's laptop (ie, being out of service for a whole afternoon faffing with a broken update, not ideal for a work machine!!!)

    I'll report back on my findings :D
     
  8. Harey

    Harey

    Messages:
    1,373
    Ratings:
    +614
  9. Mr Whippy

    Mr Whippy

    Messages:
    2,992
    Ratings:
    +461
    Well my wife's laptop has Win10 with updates disabled (task scheduler and firewalled)

    That's great, but turning it on/off elegantly for .Net and drivers etc *when needed* is a real pain, because it often suddenly finds many updates and then forces you to update them there and then.
    Usually we use my wife's laptop for TV on an evening (netflix, films, TV, whatever), and before silencing all that junk it usually got booted up and then spent the next 10 mins faffing with updates/restarts before you could use it!
    Arghhh haha!


    I'll be aiming to get 7 working on my new laptop with Racer and all my tools. Given our baby being due soon, it means I can float around the home and work on projects, rather than being stuck at my old 7 desktop for all those Racer/work tasks with 10 is struggling with... something which I won't get much time for for a bit!
     
  10. Mr Whippy

    Mr Whippy

    Messages:
    2,992
    Ratings:
    +461
    OK, got Win7 on there.

    Installed enough stuff for a Racer test.

    It fails for the same kinda reasons.

    Code:
    Fri Feb 10 21:25:39 (INFO ): [racer] --- application start ---
    Fri Feb 10 21:25:39 (INFO ): [racer] Racer version 0.9.0 RC5c: $Revision: 3579 $ (Nov 17 2012/12:47:55) - customer: Internet (32-bits) [main.cpp:206 / main]
    Fri Feb 10 21:25:39 (INFO ): [racer] Hostname 'MRBIGGLESWORTH', IP 127.0.0.1 [main.cpp:211 / main]
    Fri Feb 10 21:25:39 (ERR  ): [racer] wglGetProcAddress(glProgramVertexLimitNV) failed [gllextmgr.cpp:143 / check_wglGetProcAddress]
    Fri Feb 10 21:25:39 (INFO ): [racer] Render engine using Cg (4.40 - Build 20.19.15.4501) [dgpushader.cpp:47 / DGPUShaderManager::DGPUShaderManager]
    Fri Feb 10 21:25:39 (INFO ): [racer] DGPUShaderManager::Init() Geometry shading is not supported on this card (ATI?). [dgpushader.cpp:139 / DGPUShaderManager::Init]
    Fri Feb 10 21:25:39 (WARN ): [racer] DGPUShader:Load(data/renderer/shaders/dyn_standard_v.cg): The profile is not supported. [qerror.cpp:41 / QShowCGErrors]
    Fri Feb 10 21:25:39 (WARN ): [racer] DGPUShaderManager:MakeObject(data/renderer/shaders/particles_f.cg): can't create CG fragment shader program [dgpushader.cpp:894 / DGPUShader::LoadAndCreateFromFile]
    Fri Feb 10 21:25:39 (WARN ): [racer] DGPUShader::LoadAndCreateFromFile[data/renderer/shaders/particles_f.cg]: The compile returned an error. [qerror.cpp:41 / QShowCGErrors]
    Fri Feb 10 21:25:39 (WARN ): [racer]   data/renderer/shaders/shadowmapping.cg(169) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "float4" to "float2"
    etc etc etc
    etc etc etc
    data/renderer/shaders/shadowmapping.cg(163) : warning C7050: "shadowTerm" might be used before being initialized
    data/renderer/shaders/shadowmapping.cg(163) : warning C7050: "shadowTerm" might be used before being initialized
    data/renderer/shaders/shadowmapping.cg(90) : error C5508: the operator "&" is not supported by this profile
    data/renderer/shaders/shadowmapping.cg(90) : error C5508: the operator "&" is not supported by this profile
    data/renderer/shaders/shadowmapping.cg(90) : error C5508: the operator "&" is not supported by this profile
    data/renderer/shaders/shadowmapping.cg(98) : error C5013: profile does not support "for" statements and "for" could not be unrolled.
    data/renderer/shaders/shadowmapping.cg(101) : error C5013: profile does not support "for" statements and "for" could not be unrolled.
    data/renderer/shaders/shadowmapping.cg(98) : error C5013: profile does not support "for" statements and "for" could not be unrolled.
    data/renderer/shaders/shadowmapping.cg(101) : error C5013: profile does not support "for" statements and "for" could not be unrolled.
    data/renderer/shaders/shadowmapping.cg(98) : error C5013: profile does not support "for" statements and "for" could not be unrolled.
    data/renderer/shaders/shadowmapping.cg(101) : error C5013: profile does not support "for" statements and "for" could not be unrolled. [%s]
    
    So similar thing about geometry shading not supported on this card (ATI?), and also about for and & operators.

    So it's likely a 1060 driver OGL support issue? Maybe why Ruud has the GLSL support in Panthera?
    I wonder if it's actually a GPU limitation then, or an OGL version issue?

    I wouldn't have thought OGL would be deprecated and lose past support, so I'm leaning torwards the 1060 drivers simply not supporting OGL fully?


    Imagine you have some complex and expensive custom software from 2012, and just a scant 4 years later new hardware/software combos won't run it right (a new £2000 laptop running Win10 and a 1060 GPU)
    That's pretty damn lame in my view!


    I'll have a bash at using the very first 1060 driver nVidia offers. Hmmmm.
     
  11. Mr Whippy

    Mr Whippy

    Messages:
    2,992
    Ratings:
    +461
    Ah, my silly fault.

    Working in 10 now, and likely 7 too once I tweak the settings.

    I thought I'd set the used GFX to CPU based to see if it fared any better, and it errored the same.
    My power light is red on CPU GFX, orange on GPU.
    So while I was forcing CPU GFX, I double checked forced GPU was actually engaging.

    No it wasn't. Haha.

    So far the auto-GPU has been invoked without issue, but perhaps with Racer being less intertwined with systems (registry and all that jazz) it's failing to do so.

    Either way it's working so far!!!


    Yay. I was starting to get worried there would be no Racer dev work to be possible here. Phew!

    4k Racer on a 17" screen... mmmmmm!
     
  12. Mr Whippy

    Mr Whippy

    Messages:
    2,992
    Ratings:
    +461
    Racer @ 4k on a 1060 ~ 25-35fps haha.

    It's crisp, but even 1080p on a 17" screen looks amply sharp enough for gaming type purposes.

    I think for gaming, at least until games get really visually rich to make the most of 4k pixels on a 17" screen, then the 'old' pixel pitch standard is probably a better compromise.

    So 4k still nice, but on a 34" screen or something.

    That said this 4k panel is lovely for everything else sooooo.
     
  13. Harey

    Harey

    Messages:
    1,373
    Ratings:
    +614
    Ah good you got it working. I actually recently upgraded my monitor from a 20" 1600x900 screen to a 23.8" 1440p monitor. so the good old 970 manages 40-50fps at 1440p in Racer. Thought about going to a higher res screen, just didn't want to spend the money.

    I'm sure that 4k panel is nice, 17" or not lol.
     
  14. Mr Whippy

    Mr Whippy

    Messages:
    2,992
    Ratings:
    +461
    Yep I'm very happy I got it working.

    I can now 'reset' Win10 and then grab Forza H3 via the store (the price!!! eeek!) to try out. It's always good to look at other stuff and how they do it as a source of inspiration.



    I'm sure I get more fps on my 760 at 1440p on my desktop screen, I guess it depends on content though. It'll be nice with some new optimised content to benchmark Racer.

    Right, time to image this drive again. Then finish up the 7 installs, image again, and then veracrypt the 7 install and see what happens haha!

    Dave