• "Bite off more than you can chew and then chew like hell." - Peter Brock
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GTL Lobby Fix

Discussion in 'GT Legends' started by Ramon van Rijn, Jul 14, 2009.

  1. Ramon van Rijn

    Ramon van Rijn

    Messages:
    5,398
    Ratings:
    +234
    Reason for GTL going down is the expired domainname. So if the lobby is not going to us anymore, we just go to the lobby ourself.

    The old IP Address of the Lobby server (www.gtl-server.net) was: 81.3.59.61
    So to cheat the domain name system we just edit our local host file and tell Windows the www.gtl-server.net is this ip address and not the new godaddy ip address.

    In command line language the fix is:
    Code:
    @Echo off
    Echo. >>%SystemRoot%\System32\Drivers\etc\hosts
    Echo 81.3.59.61 www.gtl-server.net >>%SystemRoot%\System32\Drivers\etc\hosts
    
    Thats the contents of the included FixGTL.cmd file :)
    I have updated the RD server (.198) and started a Dedi Server. Checked it on my own pc and I can connect as usual.

    Have fun!

    [Edit]
    If someone did the "antideco patch" patch first then you have to undo that one first. They can't work both together.

    Open your hosts file with notepad

    With Windows Explorer browse to the folder
    c:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\

    Right click the file 'hosts' and select Open or Open With
    Open it with Notepad

    Make sure you delete all lines containing "127.0.0.1 www.gtl-server.net"
    And just add this line once: "81.3.59.61 www.gtl-server.net"

    Save and close the file and (re)start GT Legends. Thats it.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Abdul Al-Amry

    Abdul Al-Amry
    2011 RD Indy 500 Winner

    Messages:
    2,298
    Ratings:
    +19
    Ramon so I just run the attached file right?
     
  3. Kris Leeten

    Kris Leeten

    Messages:
    1,844
    Ratings:
    +1
    Doesn't it have to be the other IP in the script?
     
  4. Ramon van Rijn

    Ramon van Rijn

    Messages:
    5,398
    Ratings:
    +234
    Yep, just doubleclick the cmd file once.
    Then start the game and have fun :)

    So only start this cmd file once. Next time just fire up GTL :)
     
  5. Ramon van Rijn

    Ramon van Rijn

    Messages:
    5,398
    Ratings:
    +234
    The correct ip address is in the script, which is 81.3.59.61

    The wrong ip which is currently assigned to godaddy.com ends with .99
     
  6. Abdul Al-Amry

    Abdul Al-Amry
    2011 RD Indy 500 Winner

    Messages:
    2,298
    Ratings:
    +19
    Ramon the file opens for just a split second, but I can see its typed "Acess is denied"
     
  7. Amir Margalit

    Amir Margalit

    Messages:
    731
    Ratings:
    +4
    so for tonights race i need to change the ip?
     
  8. Kris Leeten

    Kris Leeten

    Messages:
    1,844
    Ratings:
    +1
    No just run the command and start up 'classic' GTL and enter internet multiplayer (only RD visible)
     
  9. Kris Leeten

    Kris Leeten

    Messages:
    1,844
    Ratings:
    +1
    @ Abdul got admin-rights?
     
  10. Abdul Al-Amry

    Abdul Al-Amry
    2011 RD Indy 500 Winner

    Messages:
    2,298
    Ratings:
    +19
    Got it working Kris, I cannot see RD server in the game lobby.

    All good now. Except the server has a track I havent installed yet lol.

    Thank you Ramon for the fix.
     
  11. Stuart Thomson

    Stuart Thomson
    The Stoat Without Fear ™ Premium

    Messages:
    15,058
    Ratings:
    +3,236
    maybe right click and "run as administrator" will work?
     
  12. Ramon van Rijn

    Ramon van Rijn

    Messages:
    5,398
    Ratings:
    +234
  13. ANiMAL

    ANiMAL

    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the fix Ramon. :)
     
  14. Ben Tusting

    Ben Tusting

    Messages:
    5,764
    Ratings:
    +133
    I run the file and GT Legends just hangs and then says cannot connect to lobby.
    It says Access Denied
     
  15. Stuart Thomson

    Stuart Thomson
    The Stoat Without Fear ™ Premium

    Messages:
    15,058
    Ratings:
    +3,236
    try this as well Benno:

    "Open your hosts file with notepad

    With Windows Explorer browse to the folder
    c:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\

    Right click the file 'hosts' and select Open or Open With
    Open it with Notepad

    Make sure you delete all lines containing "127.0.0.1 www.gtl-server.net"
    And just add this line once: "81.3.59.61 www.gtl-server.net"

    Save and close the file and (re)start GT Legends. Thats it."
     
  16. Ben Tusting

    Ben Tusting

    Messages:
    5,764
    Ratings:
    +133
    Fixed now Ramon spoke to me on MSN.

    I thought the c:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\ (etc bit meant blah blah folder):)
     
  17. Stuart Thomson

    Stuart Thomson
    The Stoat Without Fear ™ Premium

    Messages:
    15,058
    Ratings:
    +3,236
    Lulz :D
     
  18. Abdul Al-Amry

    Abdul Al-Amry
    2011 RD Indy 500 Winner

    Messages:
    2,298
    Ratings:
    +19
    LOL
     
  19. Adrian Bate

    Adrian Bate

    Messages:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    First can i say thanks to Ramon for working this one out, would it be OK the share this with the lads over at our site (we have lots of grown men who have had to resort to speaking with thair wives and girlfriends on race night)
    Just one question, what do you have to do server side to get it up in the lobby?

    BIG BIG thanks Ade
     
  20. Ramon van Rijn

    Ramon van Rijn

    Messages:
    5,398
    Ratings:
    +234
    Of course you are allowed to share.
    Do on the server the same as you did on your own PC. After all the server is usual just another Windows machine (XP/Win2000/2003/2008/etc) (etc as in bla bla :) )