• You don't get fast in order to take part in club races, you take part in club races to get fast!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dear Guest. Follow RaceDepartment on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Twitch, Steam and YouTube.

Going back to rFactor

Discussion in 'F1 2010 - The Game' started by punch, Dec 3, 2010.

  1. punch

    punch

    Messages:
    57
    Ratings:
    +2
    Have never been able to race properly because the game locks up for a couple of seconds all the time :mad:
    Tried different drivers, different settings, sound to rapture or software then thought the patch might sort it but if anything its worse now !!

    think spec should handle it :
    CPU: Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @ 2.7GHz
    GPU: ASUS Geforce GTX 285
    RAM: 6Gb (3X2) Corsair DDR3 @ 1600Mhz
    Motherboard: ASUS P6T WS Pro

    So think I'll go back to rFactor :frown:
     
  2. F1 2011 Rocks!

    F1 2011 Rocks!

    Messages:
    505
    Ratings:
    +6
    Have you also tried defragging your HDD and checking it for errors?
     
  3. Fahad Gaffoor

    Fahad Gaffoor

    Messages:
    747
    Ratings:
    +5
    I run this game with a way more lower specs that yours.. and it drives like a charm..
     
  4. Ivan Gjorgjievski

    Ivan Gjorgjievski

    Messages:
    120
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fahad, what are your config settings, and in-game graphics settings?
     
  5. Mark Spaeth

    Mark Spaeth

    Messages:
    210
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you say lock up, do you mean a lag spike, or literally, the screen freezes? Also, what OS do you use?
     
  6. Ryan Vickery

    Ryan Vickery

    Messages:
    694
    Ratings:
    +168
    Sounds like an issue with your computer, drivers, harddrive, virus's. Your computer should and probably would (if it was healthy) run the game at max settings without an issue. I've experienced similar issues in games on my computer, only my computer is old and not healthy ^^, in the passed it has been fine.
     
  7. slavko.g

    slavko.g

    Messages:
    97
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same problem (after patch). I've resolved it by "bypassing" the replay file from C:\ProgramData to a location on my external sata2 HDD with the mklink function in cmd. You can try to make it read only. Also try to install the latest Nvidia driver with f12010 support. I'm playing it on ultra settings in DX11 mode now and everything goes smooth with a little bit slower machine than yours.
     
  8. TR6speed

    TR6speed

    Messages:
    124
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am running mine with everything in the graphics set to their highest limits and I am using XP 32 bit. I have added the patch as well as some mods that really make it a much better game and I am not having any issues. Well I do have to remove open and close the drive if I exit the game and then go back to it. Other than that all is well in my race land.
     
  9. punch

    punch

    Messages:
    57
    Ratings:
    +2
    [​IMG]OS = windows 7 ultimate X64
    driver = version="260.99"
    by lockups I mean the screen freezes then returns and you a couple of seconds further down the road (not good on a bend )
    also occasional strange graphics like helmets on the trottle pedal etc,
    PC seems fine tho , no viruses and runs other games like COD black ops fine .......................
    one more thing when you say DX11 mode where can you change that..........hav nt seen an option for it ???

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Derek Day

    Derek Day

    Messages:
    121
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your computer running a start up scan or have something like norton and defender going at the same time? Do you have a screen saver theme instead going or a solid back ground? Because that will do it too I noticed.
     
  11. punch

    punch

    Messages:
    57
    Ratings:
    +2
    punch.jpg
     
  12. punch

    punch

    Messages:
    57
    Ratings:
    +2
    F1_2010.jpg
     
  13. Derek Day

    Derek Day

    Messages:
    121
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats ugly dude
     
  14. Mark Spaeth

    Mark Spaeth

    Messages:
    210
    Ratings:
    +0
    What's up with that pink screenshot? Is that what you're seeing when the game "locks up?" If so, you have a graphics card problem.

    Have you overclocked your graphics card?
     
  15. punch

    punch

    Messages:
    57
    Ratings:
    +2
    Nope and its only F1 2010 that does it ....................and why would graphics card put helmet on throttle???#
     
  16. Mark Spaeth

    Mark Spaeth

    Messages:
    210
    Ratings:
    +0
    That doesn't answer me why the screenshot is pink, did you do that or is that what happens? And the helmet is definitely a game glitch.
     
  17. punch

    punch

    Messages:
    57
    Ratings:
    +2
    yes thats wot happens in game
     
  18. Bram Hengeveld

    Bram Hengeveld
    Administrator Staff Premium

    Messages:
    42,417
    Ratings:
    +16,394
    Did you gfx card collected a lot of dust lately? Maybe clean it and see what happens..
     
  19. punch

    punch

    Messages:
    57
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just ran OCCT GPU test and does seem to be running rather hot ........... 85C
    Will give cace a clean out and report back...........Thanx chaps
     
  20. slavko.g

    slavko.g

    Messages:
    97
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey i think that i have solution for your problem. Maybe the problem comes from your PSU- Power Supply. I think that the card is "hungry". NVIDIA's new cards are PSU - eaters :). Check the min. power requirements of the card. I think that you will need a "real-power" PSU maybe 500W-800W. Also look at the temperature. I had 8600GT OC - It was hot like the sun :), a cheap fast cooler bigger than original was perfect solution for me.