• Racing is not a matter of life and death. It's much more important than that!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask. There's no such thing as a stupid question.

Getting Generic Mod Enabler to work with steam version

Discussion in 'F1 2010 - The Game' started by Steve Stoop, Nov 26, 2010.

  1. Steve Stoop

    Steve Stoop

    Messages:
    484
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey guys,

    Been a huge fan of all the great mods made on here and have installed a great many of them. However it gets kind of tedious to install and uninstall all these files manually (let alone just keep track of all the files i've changed lol).

    Now that I started playing multiplayer I need a quick and easy way to remove the mods when going online and put them back on for my career.

    I read about this generic mod enabler by jonesoft, but it only mentiones 'regular' installs from Disk as far as I can see.

    Anyone know how I can get it to work with the steam version. I just can't seem to get it right. I install it in the steamapps f12010 folder and make it point to that directory. The mod enabler tells me the mods are...Well...enabled :D yet they have no effect in game.

    Any help is much appreciated!
     
  2. Steve Stoop

    Steve Stoop

    Messages:
    484
    Ratings:
    +0
    bumpitty bump :)
     
  3. F1 2011 Rocks!

    F1 2011 Rocks!

    Messages:
    505
    Ratings:
    +6
    Good question - can anyone help? I'm having the same issue.
     
  4. Sagman76

    Sagman76

    Messages:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    As long as you have the exe and a folder named MODS in the F1 Folder it should work, I'm on steam and it's fine.
    I have parent folder of the mod say AI Mod then whatever folder relevant in that be it car/tracks etc etc.
    Make sure game isn't running when applying. Leave mod enabler running.
     
  5. mvpe

    mvpe

    Messages:
    82
    Ratings:
    +0
    1) Install JSGME, change the shortcut to launch from F1 directory (tell you how to do this in the install instructions)
    2) You should now have a MODS folder in your f1 folder, place all your mods in there. Make sure they have the correct file structure.

    For example car skins will be something like /redbullHDskin/cars/rb0/livery_main/skin_high.pssg

    What the mod enabler does is copy the mod files over for you and back up the originals, so you need to make sure the mods folders have the correct structure to be copied to the right place. Most mods are not JSGME ready, make sure to tweak each one individually. (The car skin mods usually come with high and low resolutions and the light mods have light and dark versions.)


    3) Activate your mods and you are ready to go. Here is a screenshot of my mods

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Steve Stoop

    Steve Stoop

    Messages:
    484
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aha, point 2 is probably where it's going wrong since the installation I did seems correct judging by what you guys said.

    Thx for the help, will report back if I got it to work

    Might be a good suggestion for the RDDev guys to make their mods available already adapted to the mod enabler.
     
  7. Ruddrage

    Ruddrage

    Messages:
    2
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm running with the steam version, you need to install JSGME into driveletter:\Steam\steamapps\common\f1 2010\
    When you run JSGME, it will ask to create a MODS directory. Any mods you want to install should go into this directory.
    I.e
    driveletter:\Steam\steamapps\common\f1 2010\MODS\ModName

    Hope this helps.
     
  8. F1 2011 Rocks!

    F1 2011 Rocks!

    Messages:
    505
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks for that. :)
     
  9. F1 2011 Rocks!

    F1 2011 Rocks!

    Messages:
    505
    Ratings:
    +6
    Seconded!

    Nope - they're still not working for me. I even tried with a most basic mod - the one to change the intro video to The Chain music - so copied folder Chain V2 into 'MODS', activated it, and I still have the original intro video.

    I've used it before with the Silent Hunter series - no problems there at all getting them to work.
     
  10. mvpe

    mvpe

    Messages:
    82
    Ratings:
    +0
    Use the correct folder structure.....
    /mods/introv2/video/ego_sting.bik

    dont use something like this /mods/f12010/introv2/video/ego_sting.bik.

    I hope that makes sense.