General Setup of the FR 3.5

Just recently I found that ISI states that the default setup of the car is more or less what you would expect the car to be setup in real life.
Also I found that they provide an easier setup. Both those however are completely different to the ones that get posted here.

David's and especially Martin's setups are super soft. Everything regarding the springs is at the lowest setting and also the car height is very low.

I am no expert at all but from what I have read such a setup should actually behave very unstable, as high downforce in fast sectors would push the car very low and once slowing down the springs would open up making the car feel and react very different.

Am I misunderstanding something here?
Also how is your approach towards making a setup?
I am using a 21 step guide made for GTR2.

Sry, no time for a comprehensive answer, but here are some statements:

The softer the suspension the more grip you have, but like you wrote, the harder the handling can be.
Also the lower the car the better the handling, but the possibility to touch the track is higher, and then you have a really bad handling (e.g. on curbs, ...).

I`m also no expert, but I think it is the best way to find out how the car reacts for your own.
Try to take a default setup and change the setup step by step and look how it feels.
This and read all setup guides you find, then you will find you way.

Basicly I understand the background of the settings.
And the result of the changes are often how I wanted to modify the handling of the car.
But also often then I`m not faster :D
So my secret procedure to create a setup is often trail&error :D

Also an important point is that the setup has to fit to the driver respectively to the driving style.
E.g. I never ever was able to do a PB with a setup from David, but we all know, he`s damn fast, and so they can`t be bad setups ...
... or the setups are bad and he`s a much much more faster driver ... hopefully not :D:D:D