Gaming PC advice

I've just about had enough of F1 2011 and don't hold out much hope for 2012 to be a massive improvement so have decided to take the plunge and switch over to the PC platform from my PS3. I have no knowledge of computers and I'm asking for advice on what I should be looking for?
I want a PC to play Race07 and rfactor etc and the PC will not be used for anything other than racing sims.
I have a budget of around £500, suggestions, advice and tips appreciated?

Here is example list of bre-build computers->http://www.overclockers.co.uk/productlist.php?groupid=43&catid=2040
Here is a "good" starting point but I would upgrade the Graphics Card in this-> http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=FS-237-OK&groupid=43&catid=2040&subcat=

You still need to buy monitor, keyboard and mouse which will cost you from £110 upwards.
Cheapest computers are usually equipped with slow graphics card so its better to upgrade that right from the start. Dont know which are cheap shops in UK so you could find better deals elsewhere.

Increasing your budget to £700 would give you more choices or you could buy some parts second hand but there is always risk involved with it.

Upvote 0
scan.co.uk
cclonline.co.uk

sometimes...
dabs.co.uk
ebuyer.com (seems to be moving to more general electronics these days)
novatech.co.uk (does cheap in house prebuilt systems.)

Upvote 0
Nah just connect it via a hdmi or dvi cable if you can (avoid using VGA, the blue 15 pin connection, if possible), the PC should detect the tv as its only display and start using it. You might need to set resolution, but if you used hdmi or dvi it should just work right out of the box without any adjustment.

Upvote 0
Good advice from Jari, if you could raise your budget a little more it's going to help a lot.

I did the exact same thing, a year ago, had a ps3 sold it to get a pc! as I only use for sim racing, the quality is fair better and not looked back :cool: