F1 2013 Fuel, Tyres, Car Setup Rules?

F1 2013 The Game (Codemasters)
Hi!
I'm a noob to this game, and do not really follow the F1 seasons IRL either. But this game makes me interested.

However, I have some problem understanding a few things concerning car setup. In the old days I played F1 GP on Atari very much, and then I just got new and fresh tyres on every pitstop. Now there seems to be a lot of limitations. E.g. why cannot I get fresh tyres on every pitstop, and why can I not change the car setup when qualifying? To me this is a layer of abstraction which makes it hard to understand the game. I would even say that it's unnecessary for the game and would appreciate a "car setup rules" option to turn off in settings to make things easier and playable sooner. However, I will overcome this!

Can someone please make a list of the fuel, tyres and car setup rules that affect the game so a noob can understand it? Is there maybe a "game tutorial" that list all things you need to know to understand how to play?

no change in setup btwn quali and the race is called Parc Ferme - turn that off in settings if you want to be able to change your setup for the race.

The tyres are limited in real life to 6 sets primes and 5 sets options, but because of the lack of Practice 1 and Practice 2 sessions in this game (only practice 3 remains) you only have 4 sets of primes and 4 of options to last you through practice 3, quali, and the race. To further complicate the matter, you are only allowed to use 3 sets of each tyre compound in the race.
You have to manage those sets. often times when i'm making setups I will restart practice sessions over and over and use as many tyres as i want.

Why is the game like this? Because that's what it's like in real life and that's what most of the game players want. a game that's as close to real life as possible.

Last edited: