• "Bite off more than you can chew and then chew like hell." - Peter Brock
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Thrustmaster 24 Hours of Le Mans (LIVE)
Click the cross to dismiss this video
Dear fan, please make sure to like the video and subscribe to our channel to be eligible to win this round's prize provided by our sponsor.

F1 2012 Demo not working with DrectX 10

Discussion in 'F1 2012 - The Game' started by ToroRossoRulez, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. ToroRossoRulez

    ToroRossoRulez

    Messages:
    79
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hi there, my demo will not work with DirectX 10. My OS is Windows Vista 64 bit. My graphics card can run DirectX 10, and I also have 10 installed, but always when I start the game on steam I get a pop up that I atleast need 10 or 11. It's really annoying, because I have the requirements for the game and was really looking forward to play the game. I hope somebody can give me some help, or maybe thereĀ“s someone out there with the same problem.


    Thx,
     
  2. gen langsdorf

    gen langsdorf

    Messages:
    21
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought Windows 7 was the minimum spec.
     
  3. ToroRossoRulez

    ToroRossoRulez

    Messages:
    79
    Ratings:
    +11
    Yeah, but come on now if you can only play it on 7 that would be lame. Not everybody has 7
     
  4. Mr Pibb

    Mr Pibb

    Messages:
    188
    Ratings:
    +102
    I had the same problem. I only had Vista SP1 (32 bit) installed. As soon as I installed SP2, DX11 was available and game runs sweet now.
     
  5. Graham Laing

    Graham Laing
    ...... mostly harmless Staff

    Messages:
    6,295
    Ratings:
    +2,085
    I don't suppose going to :- C:\Users\YourName\Documents\My Games\FormulaOne2012\hardwaresettings

    Opening the hardware_settings_config.xml file with a good text editor :-

    http://notepad-plus-plus.org/

    Then changing line 7 :-

    <directx forcedx10="false" />

    to

    <directx forcedx10="true" />

    Will make a difference?
     
  6. Tom

    Tom
    Staff Emeritus Premium

    Messages:
    5,793
    Ratings:
    +3,194
    Vista is fine, XP isn't supported since XP isn't even supported by Microsoft anymore. Vista will however need Service Pack 2 in order to install the required DirectX version, as described here.

    If you did that correctly, the config line described by @Gnu UK should either change automatically or don't matter at all.
     
  7. Graham Laing

    Graham Laing
    ...... mostly harmless Staff

    Messages:
    6,295
    Ratings:
    +2,085
    True dat! ......;)
     
  8. ToroRossoRulez

    ToroRossoRulez

    Messages:
    79
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks for the tips everybody :D I'm gonna try tomorrow since it's kinda late now
     
  9. Jasegp

    Jasegp

    Messages:
    16
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have the same problem when starting F1 2012 "Directx10 or 11 support required" error message but I do have directx11 and when you go to dxdiag it shows that its installed. Also if you look for the hardware_settings_config.xml file it's not there so you cant change that. Is this a Vista problem as this is the second PC I have found the problem on and one has a nVidia card and the other is Radeon. I have also updated the video drivers and SP2 is installed so it should run. F1 2010 and 11 both ran fine it's only F1 2012 demo that doesn't work. Someone must know whats going on and have a fix.
    Thx
     
  10. ToroRossoRulez

    ToroRossoRulez

    Messages:
    79
    Ratings:
    +11
    Again another obstacle between me and fun... This time when I try to install SP2 I get error 80004005. When I close it it returns my pc back too SP1. I hope somebody can help me, maybe Tom Enders it looks like he has some knowledge about this.
     
  11. Tom

    Tom
    Staff Emeritus Premium

    Messages:
    5,793
    Ratings:
    +3,194
    So yesterday you're insulting me and now you want me to help? Well, well, well.

    Follow the steps outlined here, that's a good start - let us know if it's working.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. Ho3n3r

    Ho3n3r

    Messages:
    4,996
    Ratings:
    +1,491
    Nice Tom! Only a real man would help out someone after being insulted by them :thumbsup: :cool:
     
  13. Jasegp

    Jasegp

    Messages:
    16
    Ratings:
    +2
    The above steps didn't fix the issue. I have now tried 3 different vista machines and I get the same error when starting the demo "Directx 10 or 11 support required. All macine are 100% up to date with SP2 and drivers they also have either DX10.1 or 11 installed and this shows up in DXdiag. Tried updating DX and get message thats it's up to date. So whats next ? Does anybody have the demo running on a Vista machine ? Please suggest something that hasn't already been tried. I don't want to upgrade to Win7 just to run this game.

    Thanks
     
  14. azwris

    azwris

    Messages:
    120
    Ratings:
    +31
    e-x-a-c-t-l-y!
     
  15. Tom

    Tom
    Staff Emeritus Premium

    Messages:
    5,793
    Ratings:
    +3,194
    I'm using XP on my old machine as well and it's running well. However, I don't see any reason not to upgrade to a new version of Windows - 11 years after XP has hit the market. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. azwris

    azwris

    Messages:
    120
    Ratings:
    +31
  17. Tom

    Tom
    Staff Emeritus Premium

    Messages:
    5,793
    Ratings:
    +3,194
  18. azwris

    azwris

    Messages:
    120
    Ratings:
    +31
    Ha ha, it feels bad, believe me!
     
  19. Jasegp

    Jasegp

    Messages:
    16
    Ratings:
    +2
    I still can't get the demo to run on Vista , does anybody have a fix for this ? What driver version are people using for an ATI video card?