Downloading Software Choice

Jack Smith

Premium
I have had the chance to download some large game files lately with not much luck in some cases. I have just lately installed and used the Internet Download Manager but it's 30 day free trial is now expired. I was wondering what others are using to download things. Do people use free downloaders or purchase one? Also the PnGv3 software does not download correctly for me when using the IDM or the IE9 downloader. Not really concerned about discussing that problem here...more interested in what downloading software/method is beng used... also I am only interested in legal downloads.:thumbsup:

I have no experience with download managers from this era, have used them in the past with Win98 when I was on dial-up connection.
In recent years the plain IE download function has hardly ever failed me, and only recently I too have switched to Opera, its integrated download functionality is great.

That said I live in a densly populated area and have had a rock solid cable connection for a few years now, and a slow but stable ADSL connection before that.

I can imagine that in rural Canada, where internet connections may not be as stable, a good download manager with packet verification can prove its worth.. can't really help you there though:(

I don't use a Download Manager, I just use Opera browser (Free) instead of IE9 and it works fine.
Opera user here as well :thumbsup:

Never used anything but the browser. Perhaps for a short while back when I was on dial-up, 10 or so years ago. No need for anything other than a decent browser now.

If you can't get some files, Dropbox might be an interesting solution for you. Someone uploads a file for you in a shared folder, and it gets downloaded when it gets downloaded, doesn't get interrupted by connection drops.

I use Chrome here (why would you use IE at all??), but I downloaded P&G with the torrent, using the program uTorrent.