Does the car matter?

Noob question, but asking never hurt nobody:

I was wondering if the car (only WTCC, STCC cars) matter (i know they feel diferent and ofc RWD is totaly diferent from FWD).

My question is about speed: Is a car faster than another (ex: honda is faster than seat in the hands of the same driver same conditions etc).

At RD i've race mini mostly and i'm top10 ( in qually) at least.. but soon i started to race STCC(1 race here and 2 at race2play) and i'm rubbish.. i can bearly keep up with the back of the pack.

One thing i saw that half or more use the honda.. and few use seat or alfa.. and usualy the honda is 1'st in qually.
Or is it just me ( i've raced WTCC in Seat since i started playing sim racing but mainly on public servers noting too serious).

I'm asking because in mini i seem to do much better (same car for everyone), and in STCC,WTCC 5 times worst (diferent cars).

Thank you!

Mostly it's just what car fits to what driver. There is not much difference between WTCC cars (apart from STCC2 Scirocco and until the latest patch, Volvo C30..) but Honda is maybe the easiest to drive (once called the NoobMobile...). To me, 2007 Peugeot just fits better than any other and i can do a second faster laps with it. Seat is easy to drive at first but getting it to 1st grid pos in the qualy is perhaps harder than with Honda. Alfa needs an Alfa-man, it feels heavy but has a good engine.. WTCC Beemers are a bit more powerful than the rest but 5-speed gearbox and RWD evens things out fine, you can almost count them to make at least one mistake more than you.. Plus RWD mistakes are way worse than FWD, spins cost a lot of time where as FWD mostly just go wide.