F1 2010 Do AI car pit after patch?

F1 2010 The Game (Codemasters)
I really wonder about this. First of all, I'm not an expert or using a wheel. I am playing with easy level with all the assistance on. In the 1st race, I struggled to get a good time and finally I ended up as 18th in qualifying.

Then the race started and I got a strong lead and overtook many to reach 14th. Fought with Bari for 13th until my tires got bad (started with option tire and drove for 7 laps. Had tire settings enabled to make that part realistic) and I started losing time. But nobody overtook me for 7 laps and then I pitted.

My pit stop was reasonable (7.33) and I joined the race again as 19th. I thought maybe because those in front of me haven't pitted yet and kept on racing. I did not reach my best lap (the one I did in 3rd lap with option tires) after my pitstop but I was always maintaining the same lap time (+1sec of my best lap) until the end of the race. And I ended up as 18th (1 retire).

I don't understand why that happened. Nobody overtook me and I couldn't have lost that much time in my pitstop to compensate 5 people in front of me to take a lead. Only reason they would have had advantage over me is if they didn't pit. It was a 20 lap race but everyone must pit atleast once right for the tire change atleast?

Also, how do you see the current racers standings during the race? I can see my standing and the 1 before me and 1 after me. And I also see the lead racer. But nobody else or what their pit standings for me to evaluate who haven't pitted in front of me. It would have been very helpful to know that.

I would appreciate it if someone can let me know.

OK