• "Mwoah" - Kimi Räikkönen
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dear Guest. Follow RaceDepartment on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Twitch, Steam and YouTube.

Custom Grid for offline championship.

Discussion in 'rFactor 2' started by VernWozza, Oct 19, 2017.

  1. VernWozza

    VernWozza
    Premium

    Messages:
    219
    Ratings:
    +81
    Hi guys.

    Have to say i'm loving RFactor2 at the moment, especially since the GT3 Pack £14 well spent!

    I want to make a custom grid for an offline championship using the GT3 and skins I have made for the cars. What I want is:
    • Remove all the Worlds fastest gamer Mclarens
    • Make c. 2-3 new teams with new skins for each car
    • Group them all together in one class

    2 questions then. Is this possible and if so how do I do it?

    Thanks,
    Vern
     
  2. Gijs van Elderen

    Gijs van Elderen
    Premium

    Messages:
    4,611
    Ratings:
    +2,398
    Yes,

    Don't know if you are familiar with "addon AI's"?

    Create a duplicate of the excisting ones, and give them a propper driver name. So you can change Test Driver...

    The Addon AI is an .rcd file with a folder containing the .dds skin files.



    You can add as many as you want and change the .dds files. Give them AI talents if you want spefic AI to be faster or slower.

    This is an hidden feature but you can add an AI class manually in the the .rcd files.
    So you can create classes for AI and a new Category for selecting your car.

    You'll need to add the lines in the .rcd file: For example:
    Classes=GT3_PACK
    Category=GT3_PACK, GT3 Callaway

    Just a quick thingy to get you started: Unzip and put it in the UserData/Player/Settings folder
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/k94k2x1hzwbcr79/GT3 Skinpack.7z?dl=0
    You'll find the cars in "GT3 Pack in the car list and "GT3 PACK" as AI class
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2017
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. VernWozza

    VernWozza
    Premium

    Messages:
    219
    Ratings:
    +81
    You sir are a legend.

    And how about removing the Fastest gamer McLarens? Can that be done by changing the class?
     
  4. Gijs van Elderen

    Gijs van Elderen
    Premium

    Messages:
    4,611
    Ratings:
    +2,398
    Don't add them to your Skin pack. ;)

    .RCD looks like this.

    {
    Jeff Baltimore //Skin folder and driver name (needs to be unique, No doubles
    {
    Team = Callaway Competition
    Component = Callaway_C7-GT3-R_2017
    Skin = alt.dds //Skin file
    VehFile = CALLAWAY_C7_77.VEH //reference car
    Description = Callaway Corvette C7 GT3-R #2
    Number = 2

    Classes=MY_GT3_PACK //Opponent selection class
    Category=MY_GT3_PACK, GT3 Callaway //Car selection
    }
    }


    Nothing is holding you back to create addon AI from other GT3 mods and add them in your skin pack.
    Or add LMP's or wathever you want.

    - No packaging required !!!
    - If the base mod gets updated, your skin pack gets updated. No packing or repacking.

    20171019190438_1.jpg

    20171019190459_1.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. VernWozza

    VernWozza
    Premium

    Messages:
    219
    Ratings:
    +81
    Would you do me the honor of marrying me?
     
  6. thepharcyde

    thepharcyde

    Messages:
    217
    Ratings:
    +68
    you're odd
     
  7. VernWozza

    VernWozza
    Premium

    Messages:
    219
    Ratings:
    +81
    This is true but when you have been trying to figure this out for as long as I have then the feelings are strong!
     
  8. Gijs van Elderen

    Gijs van Elderen
    Premium

    Messages:
    4,611
    Ratings:
    +2,398
    No, :D

    But i've updated the link above. Just unzip and overwrite the files.
    All GT3 cars default skins (no WFG skins) can be found in "GT3 Pack".

    Now you can add more if you like.
    If you find a skin for one of the cars here on the RD download section, you can easly add them to your skin pack. Just copy past an existing one and change the driver name and folder, car number etc... in the .rcd...

    Have fun.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Love Love x 1
  9. VernWozza

    VernWozza
    Premium

    Messages:
    219
    Ratings:
    +81
    Amazing thanks!

    One more question if you don't mind. I have started tinkering with other cars from other mods. For example I have added the Aston Martin for the EnduRacers GT mod. Problem is it's miles quicker than everything else. Is there any way of slowing it down a bit? I have tried the Edit AI option but it still seems to be way to quick.

    Thanks,
    Steve
     
  10. thepharcyde

    thepharcyde

    Messages:
    217
    Ratings:
    +68
    Thanks for sharing chap, just got around to trying it out, much appreciated
     
  11. Paddle Beast

    Paddle Beast

    Messages:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Gijs! I downloaded your GT3 Pack, it's works great but when I select Camaro to drive, there are only Camaros shows as opponent, no others gt3 cars. I can't understand what is wrong those Camaros .rcd files. Can You help me ?
     
  12. Gijs van Elderen

    Gijs van Elderen
    Premium

    Messages:
    4,611
    Ratings:
    +2,398
    Yes, i noticed that too. Tbh: i don’t understand why!?! It does this with this car and not with the others...

    If you select the Camaro in the GT3 pack: you’ll need to uncheck it in the opponent list and check the GT3 pack.

    To be continued...
     
  13. manc0ntr0

    manc0ntr0

    Messages:
    122
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks!
    I've managed to create new drivers and do races with more than one Bentley, Vettle, etc, but this is great! I'm going to make my own class as you explained, one click and all the desired cars will be added.