Can you perform simracing well without a steering wheel?

Hi there! I'm Johan, and I'm a 16-year-old from Germany living in the USA as a high school student.

I've been playing simracing games for about 3 years now (I have played Simraceway much earlier than this, but only for fun), but there's now a serious question in my mind.

Is it possible to be a good simracer without using a steering wheel? Or any other apparatus "required" to play simracers?

I'd love to play a simracer with a steering wheel-- I wish I could, but there is a problem. Although I actually already having a steering wheel, it can't fit into my room and it can only go into the living room. There, I play Forza Motorsport, but I feel like the competition for me is too unprofessional for me to actually consider it to be a real simracer. It has the physics calculations, but not the drivers.

I have a huge bed and my computer set up is right behind the side of it, and my chair sits tight in between the middle of them. It is so bad that if I was using an actual desk, rather than a table, my legs would be folded into my chest. Even if I could fit my wheel into this space, it won't stay on the table correctly since it's too thick. Obviously, I need a complete overhaul of my room, but this would be hell to go through and we-- my father, mostly-- simply don't have time or energy to do it.

So I end up resorting to using an Xbox Elite controller in order to play simracers like GTR2 and Assetto Corsa, and this just doesn't feel right at all. My dad does have an Alienware laptop that we share, and it's definitely possible to use that to play simracers instead, but it is a huge battery waster (when gaming, the battery goes from full to empty in about 40 minutes), creates obnoxious fan noises, and overheats easily. This method is simply not practical to me.

Any thoughts??

Excellent question. In short: yes you can be an excellent simracer without an expensive steeringwheel but there are two buts in my opinion: