• "My mind is always racing." - Justin Bieber
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dear Guest. Follow RaceDepartment on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Twitch, Steam and YouTube.

ALL Graphics Issued Solved

Discussion in 'F1 2017 - The Game' started by Nibiru Cataclysm, Sep 4, 2017.

  1. Nibiru Cataclysm

    Nibiru Cataclysm

    Messages:
    71
    Ratings:
    +21
    On the chance that this may help some of you I decided to post my solution.

    Background : Over the last few months I've become increasingly annoyed as I've spent more time messing with settings in various games at times than playing them. The four biggest issues I've had have been :

    (1) jerky in-game cut scenes on some titles
    (2) Automobilista and GSC stuttering in replays
    (3) F1 2017 - excessive blur and worst of all white sparkling edges where the AA SHOULD have been
    (4) Assetto Corsa - flickering shadows and again the white edges

    I've tried every setting known to man, I've tweaked, I've reinstalled numerous times.

    It was starting to get to the point tonight where I was thinking something was wrong with my system. Then in a flash of inspiration I uninstalled the latest Nvidia driver (for my average GTX 970) INCLUDING Physx and Experience and I reinstalled 358.50 DRIVER ONLY.

    NO Experience, NO PhysX, just the driver.

    I am stunned.

    F1 2017 is sharp, AA actually WORKS WITH THE GAME SETTINGS.
    Assetto Corsa's shadows are crisp and clean.
    GSC and AMS are running replays like a dream.
    ALL the white sparkles are gone.

    I can only surmise that Nvida have added so much crap over the last couple of years that going back to something with less complexity has in some way solved my issues, but I literally feel like I've had a system upgrade.

    FINALLY F1 2017 looks like the screenshots.

    If this helps one person then the post will have been worthwhile - I urge you to try it out and post your findings.

    Thanks
     
    • Love Love x 1
    • Haha Haha x 1
  2. JoelGL

    JoelGL

    Messages:
    1,146
    Ratings:
    +84
    What was your previous driver, before downgrading to 358.50?
     
  3. Nibiru Cataclysm

    Nibiru Cataclysm

    Messages:
    71
    Ratings:
    +21
    It was 384.76 but I've noticed over time that I've been more and more unhappy with the image quality of the drivers.
     
    • Angry Angry x 1
  4. Thijmen Nabuurs

    Thijmen Nabuurs

    Messages:
    298
    Ratings:
    +129
    is that driver compatable with a gtx1060?
     
  5. Graham Laing

    Graham Laing
    ........ Mostly harmless Staff

    Messages:
    6,474
    Ratings:
    +2,146
    As I'm using an AMD card (R9 Fury Series), to help with the F1 2017 textures/blur, I use the driver's Virtual Super Resolution function.

    The game is rendered at a higher resolution, then scaled down to the monitor's natural resolution (1920x1080) by the card. It does limit me to 60 fps though (on my card).

    1/ Enable VSR in the driver
    2/ Pick a higher resolution in the game settings that suits you monitor's screen ratio.
    3/ Disable AA in the game settings

    Screen ratio : 1920/1080= 1.77

    Resolutions to pick from in-game :-

    2560x1440
    3200x1800
    3840x2160

    Not using 2018x1536 as that screen ratio is 1.33

    VSR.jpg
     
  6. Nibiru Cataclysm

    Nibiru Cataclysm

    Messages:
    71
    Ratings:
    +21
    I would say that it would be as it's an official driver. However it is 2 years old, so you'd need to double check.

    TBH though if its not all you do is uninstall it, nothing will break.

    I only wish I'd taken before and after screenshots to show you what an incredible difference there is.

    Cheers
     
  7. Vangelis Parginos

    Vangelis Parginos
    Greek SimRacing Community Premium

    Messages:
    1,338
    Ratings:
    +1,947
    I tried to do the same thing with Nvidia DSR, but even if i have enabled DSR at nvidia settings, in game i cant go higher than 2560x1080..... thats weird and it happens only with F1.

    Edit: Solved :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2017
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Jake Fangio

    Jake Fangio
    Please don't rain pleeaassee don't rain

    Messages:
    562
    Ratings:
    +151
    So where do I go guy's for this retro driver?
     
  9. Nibiru Cataclysm

    Nibiru Cataclysm

    Messages:
    71
    Ratings:
    +21
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Jake Fangio

    Jake Fangio
    Please don't rain pleeaassee don't rain

    Messages:
    562
    Ratings:
    +151
  11. Jake Fangio

    Jake Fangio
    Please don't rain pleeaassee don't rain

    Messages:
    562
    Ratings:
    +151
    I'm running a 1070 and it won't let me roll back.Thank's anyway chaps.:thumbsup:
     
  12. RasmusP

    RasmusP
    AC Stuff and G27 help Staff Premium

    Messages:
    2,094
    Ratings:
    +784
    I don't think the driver is actually changing image quality. Probably it's just Geforce experience screwing up settings.
    But I may be wrong though!

    What is definitely true is that the older cards up until the 7xx had the lod bias on "clamp" working which is now broken and causes massive shimmering and flickering! There already is a petition for it but I don't think nvidia gives a damn :(

    Also important to know is that a driver update can break your custom profiles if using the inspector.
    And there were some new settings like fast sync and another power management feature. Wouldn't wonder if that also screwed things up on some systems.

    For me (1070 and 970 before) nothing changed between 2015 until today. But I'm keeping track of my settings :)
     
  13. Nibiru Cataclysm

    Nibiru Cataclysm

    Messages:
    71
    Ratings:
    +21
    Yea that clamp nonsense really makes me angry.

    "Here's a feature that will improve the quality of your gaming image on the £500 card you just bought but we're not going to let you use it".

    You can actually get very good modded drivers (I used them for a long time) that have the clamp feature re-enabled.

    FWIW I will be switching to ATI on my next upgrade...seriously fed up with Nvidia...

    O re Experience screwing with things - no - I've only used it / installed it on and off during the times with my image quality woes. It's def. related to the driver. If you do a search for things like "which Nvidia driver gives best image quality...." there are a lot of posts about older drivers being better than the new ones.
     
  14. RasmusP

    RasmusP
    AC Stuff and G27 help Staff Premium

    Messages:
    2,094
    Ratings:
    +784
    Only works for DX9 though :( I use the modded DLL for Rocket League, AMS and all other DX9 games. Sadly it doesn't work for DX11...

    Oh I see you wrote drivers can you post a Link to them?
    Beware: use the LINK box to not make it a direct, written Link :)
     
  15. Nibiru Cataclysm

    Nibiru Cataclysm

    Messages:
    71
    Ratings:
    +21
    Here you go - been a while since I used them but they are / were very good :

    http://www.tweakforce.com/

    You'll have to do some black magic to get around unsigned drivers on Win 10, although it's not too hard even for a technophobic 50 something like me.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. RasmusP

    RasmusP
    AC Stuff and G27 help Staff Premium

    Messages:
    2,094
    Ratings:
    +784
    Thanks man, will look into them! Read about it but couldn't find a trustworthy statement regarding them :)
    Btw: please put the Link into a link box like this: LINK :)
     
  17. Sascha Guenther

    Sascha Guenther

    Messages:
    152
    Ratings:
    +97
    Shall AA always be "off" in any game if I use DSR (Nvidia)?
     
  18. RasmusP

    RasmusP
    AC Stuff and G27 help Staff Premium

    Messages:
    2,094
    Ratings:
    +784
    Yes, and no. Depends on what AA it is.
    In general: it doesn't matter. Everything is "normal" but you have a "internal monitor" with a higher resolution.

    So 4x MSAA will still be 4x MSAA but with a higher resolution as it's input. It will eat your GPU!
    FXAA, TAA or SMAA have a very little performance impact so it doesn't matter at all.

    What I think what Graham was saying: DSR looks so well, that you simply don't NEED other AA options as most of them just blur the image and result in worse image quality :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. Graham Laing

    Graham Laing
    ........ Mostly harmless Staff

    Messages:
    6,474
    Ratings:
    +2,146
    Rasmus hit the nail on the head there, that is exactly what I mean.

    In the few games where I use VSR (AMD), DSR to you NVidia guys, because I am rendering at a higher resolution then scaling it down, there is often no need for AA as there is less jaggies at those higher resolutions, it's a nicer image anyway

    This also helps with the load on the card as there is no additional AA to process, and AA can be such FPS killer
     
    • Love Love x 1
  20. Sascha Guenther

    Sascha Guenther

    Messages:
    152
    Ratings:
    +97
    Thanks Graham for your explanation, too. Could this work for AC, too?