1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adjusting paint gloss of converted mods

Discussion in 'Stock Car Extreme Mods' started by Billy Pilgrim, Jul 28, 2014.

1. Hi
    I've been converting rF1 mods using Grumbel's tool. It's been working great.

I've got a problem with a couple of converted mods though - the NSX mod and the Corvette C6 2012. With both of those mods, the conversion worked perfectly except for one thing: in both mods the cars have a very matte finish which I doubt was the case in the original rF1 mod.

Does anyone know what the fix for this could be?
  2. ML2166

If quizzes are quizzical then what are tests?

You'd need to look at the alpha channel as the gloss could be pretty much controlled from there.

White would pretty much be a chrome finish, whilst black would be a flat matte finish.
  3. Thanks a lot for the reply.

I'm totally new to modding so I need to check:
    You mean that I'd have to open the .dds file of each car, then edit the dds file in paint.net (or Photoshop), yes?

"White would pretty much be a chrome finish, whilst black would be a flat matte finish."
    I don't understand why the finish would be different for different colours. Shouldn't I just have the same finish for any colour?

I had another thought about how to fix this:
    Supposing that the gloss levels are correct in the original rF1 version of the mod, could I just take the .dds files from the original rF1 files (i.e. before converting) and use those to overwrite the dds files in the converted version?
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2014
  4. Paint.net is really crappy with alpha channels. Yes technically you should be able to just swap the .dds over but if it has the same issue then you have to go in and mess with the alpha channel.
  5. Thanks a lot for the reply.

I'll try just using the original dds files then.
  6. I tried swapping over the original rF1 dds files: didn't work.