AC VR Prep

I'm looking to get a Rift in the next few months and I had a few questions for those of you with some VR experience.

First off, anyone have any trouble finding the gear lever while wearing their headset? I'm sure you can learn it eventually, but I'm thinking that might be tricky for a while.

Secondly, what would you guys recommend I upgrade first for the best experience? I'm running an EVGA GTX970 SSC FTW GPU, 16GB RAM (forget the speed, but I've been running the same sticks since mid 2011), and I believe an i7 4790k CPU @ 4GHz (definitely 4GHz, definitely i7 4xxx, might not be that exact chip). Alone on track I currently hover in the 150FPS range on a single 1920x1080 monitor. I can't recall where I fall in a big field of AI but that's my preferred stomping ground so I want to make sure I can still do that.

I'm leaning towards upgrading RAM as it's quite old now, and upping that to 32 would also do me well for CAD work, but if I'll get a big bang for my buck upgrading something else I'm game. I just don't want to have to reduce graphics to keep a fluid 90FPS on the Rift. What is typically more important for VR?

Cheers

GPU, GPU, GPU. I have a rift and I wouldn't run it with a 970. I'm running a 1080 now, which still requires me to dial down the graphics and turn off a majority of the PP effects. I think 1070 is probably the minimum entry point in my opinion. You can run 45fps and less graphics but its not enjoyable to me.

GPU, GPU, GPU. I have a rift and I wouldn't run it with a 970. I'm running a 1080 now, which still requires me to dial down the graphics and turn off a majority of the PP effects. I think 1070 is probably the minimum entry point in my opinion. You can run 45fps and less graphics but its not enjoyable to me.

Damn
that's upsetting. 1080s are nearly $1k here. :(