1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

¿Auto clutch=slower?

Discussion in 'iRacing' started by javi racing, Feb 10, 2014.

1. Im just getting started here in iRacing. I wonder If you get any disadvantage If you use "auto clutch" hep. I am using the Mazda (rookie class) now. As I am not used to use H shift + clutch pedal, I notice I do much faster times If I play with secuential paddles and auto clutch (so I can use left foot for bracking).

However, It is obvious that playing with three pedals and H shift is more realistic and fun. The question is, once I dominate manual clutch, will be faster than using paddles? I mean, is there any sort of penalty for those who play with auto clutch, or it would be just as fast

I have to say, I use blip technique when I downshift while playing with paddles, which makes me faster. If I use three pedals, that would mean heel and toe, which I have already tried and makes me totally slower..

Share your opinions please,,,Thank you

2. Yeah, no assists is quicker, but only if you mastered it.

3. i, for one, have given up unlearning auto clutch after a couple of years using it. i tried some while back but it actually looked and felt like work while i play games for fun, there were hundreds of brakepoints missed and motors blown up, hours spent in free training mode with no online fun, so, yes, it's not very sim-like and probably quite unprofessional and it costs me about 0.5 a lap self-proclaimed experts say, but i will forever be an auto-clutch nerd :)

4. It's not like driving a car is work, it's just a case of learning how to really. Once you've done that it's a piece of cake.

5. Just do whatever makes you faster. For you (and me, and a lot of other people), the fastest option seems to be a combination of paddles, left-foot braking, and blipping. I'll freely admit that I use a button clutch as well for some cars.