Practice etiquete - is it okay to fight for position?

hi. i'm new to simracing and sometimes in the practice sessions i get myself in doubt if i should let the faster cars pass me or if it is ok to fight and try to mantain my position.

i personally like when someone does fight me, it helps me to learn the overtaking opportunities of the track, etc. but i don't know if there's any sort of etiquete regarding this. and sometimes the guys behind me are soooooo much faster that i actually feel bad about messing their lap times. what do you think?

practice sessions are not (or shouldn´t be) about hotlaping, they are suposed to be used for practicing different lines, avoiding slower cars and in general to drive in traffic, of course there are always poeple which likes to be left alone while practicing and there are others who use this oportunity to get better and more relaxed feeling about track

Well it kind of depends in my opinion. If you just got on track and are on your warm-up lap then yes get out of the way if someone is on their hotlap trying to improve their time. Practice server or not, that's why you practice right, to improve your time on a track. Learning the corners better. Also if you are on your hotlap and an obviously faster driver keeps gaining on you then the polite thing to do is let them by. I find I learn more by following the faster drivers and watching their lines than I do trying to hold them off.

I'm the same way. If a driver is faster than me and trying to get by, I let him. Then I'll do my best to follow and learn from them. If we seem equal, then I'd let him by, and then race him and possibly practice my passing on him. I won't push too hard or block during practice. It's more about getting used to the others around you and how they and their vehicle behaves in traffic.